1st Day Of Winter

UnknownHow many times have we said, “I don’t know where this month, or year has gone? I’m sure it has something to do with my age, but it seems I’m both saying and hearing this phrase a lot. Today is the 1st day of Winter. It’s the shortest day of the year and after today the days will get longer.

With my fast moving days, Spring will be here before I know it. Before that happens I decided to list the things I like about winter. I was surprised because my first thought was ‘nothing.’

  • Shorter days, yep that means more time to sit in my jammies.
  • The fireplace, crisp cold weather makes having a cosy fire a real joy.
  • No guilt over not working in the yard
  • Soup, love that pot of soup simmering on the stove or in the crock pot
  • Sweaters, I used to love these, but then my figure shifted and …. Well you know. Now the one-size-fits-all styles are in and I am sooooo loving them.
  • Leggings, didn’t think I’d ever do leggings, but they are so comfy and with the longer, sweaters and tunics they look good. Okay, they look acceptable. If you haven’t tried them you might want to take the leap.
  • With shorter days, the nights are longer. I like that.
  • Oh and naps, lots of afternoon naps.

How about you, what do you like about winter? And, before you say nothing, reach a little, it’s a great time of the year.

Now confession time. We are going to skip January, the month that say’s “WINTER” in capital letters, and head south for spring like weather. Maybe we will need to think about the snow bird thing in future years. In the meantime I’m going to think of ways of making time slow down. Maybe I can work on being bored. Will that do it?

3 more days until Christmas.

Wishing You A Very Merry Christmas

And

A Happy 2018.

13 responses to “1st Day Of Winter

  1. I love hibernating in the winter, so all the things on your list are on mine. Add some cocoa and a good book, and I’m a happy little bear. 🙂 Merry Christmas!

  2. Really you’re leaving this beautiful winter and going south?? Hope all is well up your way. Merry Christmas

  3. LOL, my first thought was ‘nothing’ too 🙂 But I’m digging deep and maybe I could say I like cosy nights by the fire. AJ would say no lawn mowing!
    And you’re heading south for January, and I’m not envious one little bit. No, not even a little *sigh* Have fun!

    • 🙂 🙂 Yeah ‘nothing’ was temping especially since we’v been alternating between cold and wet and cold and really cold. I couldn’t believe I forgot ‘time to read’ until Laurie added it. I can relate to AJ when I was at the other place I had acre’s to mow, now I don’t even own a lawn mower.

      I sort of envy myself with planning the trip south. A month of ‘spring’ in January is good for the soul, not to mention the old bones.

  4. Your list sounds great except for the leggings, Too many lumps and bumps here for those. LOL! I hope you have a wonderful trip south. I’m waiting for you to come to my part of the south! Hope you all had a wonderful Christmas, Lavada. Jillian

  5. Have a great time in warmer climes. Whilst in Spain I missed the contrast between seasons despite some changes in temperature middle of day often meant tshirts except for the rain, boy did it rain at times surprisingly! But needed it and snow on high peaks for summer dry. Your list covers lots of my hibernation tacics.

    • I think the lack of seasons would be hard to get used to. Here in the Pacific NW we don’t have extreme weather so not the seasons like in some parts of the world but still we do have 4 seasons. We are only going to be in Arizona for a month so it will be like catching an extra month of spring. I like your term hibernation tactics. Whatever it’s called it’s nice to slow down a little.

  6. My first thought was there is nothing I like about winter either but your list has convinced me otherwise. Great things there, especially the cocoa and fire, but me in leggings? No chance. Slacks and thermals for me. Hope you are having lot of fun and sun during your January escape. Now, if only I could convince Dave … 🙂

  7. Jack and I did the January thing in Arizona two years and loved it. The weather is in the 70’s so just right for me. This will be different because we rented a place and this year we will at our son’s. They purchased it last fall and it isn’t fully furnished. They plan to retire down there so right now it’s only a vacation and get away place. Karen and I may be in semi camping mode. 🙂

Leave a comment