Daily Archives: September 5, 2014

Moonglow Awesome

I had what, for me, is a rare opportunity recently. During last month’s Supermoon, I had the chance to go for a night hike in the hills around Mt. Rainier. It wasn’t a long hike, only 3 miles and a 500 foot elevation climb. But that’s a lot for me. I walk most days, but 1-2 miles on flat, asphalted surface. Not rocky, rooty dirt paths that are going up and down.20140808_200132

We saw deer feeding, mountain meadow lakes and wonderful wildlfowers. Hmmm. Painted Ladies were one of the flowers. I don’t remember the others.

We didn’t do this hike in an hour, or even two. It took us four hours. Mostly because we started early, then stopped at the halfway point with other hikers until full dark had settled over the land, so we could see moonglow on the mountain. I wish I could describe the look of moonshine on Mt. Rainier. I think I’ve seen pictures of it, but none of us were professional photographers with the equipment for night shots. There was an…effervescence to the mountain. It was awe-inspiring and a memory picture I hope I never forget. 20140808_210242

The second half of the walk was done by moonlight, which is a little intimidating for a klutz like me. There were a few spots where the trees were so thick, we had to use the flashlights, but mostly, we navigated by nature’s own light. And no one fell. I’ve never done anything like that before and it was one of the coolest things EVER.

This picture isn’t very flattering, but I honestly don’t care.20140808_205407 I was having SO much fun! And I hope you all get or have gotten the chance to see just how glorious this place we live is, whether it’s on a mountain peak or in our own backyards, eh?