Moonglow Awesome

I had what, for me, is a rare opportunity recently. During last month’s Supermoon, I had the chance to go for a night hike in the hills around Mt. Rainier. It wasn’t a long hike, only 3 miles and a 500 foot elevation climb. But that’s a lot for me. I walk most days, but 1-2 miles on flat, asphalted surface. Not rocky, rooty dirt paths that are going up and down.20140808_200132

We saw deer feeding, mountain meadow lakes and wonderful wildlfowers. Hmmm. Painted Ladies were one of the flowers. I don’t remember the others.

We didn’t do this hike in an hour, or even two. It took us four hours. Mostly because we started early, then stopped at the halfway point with other hikers until full dark had settled over the land, so we could see moonglow on the mountain. I wish I could describe the look of moonshine on Mt. Rainier. I think I’ve seen pictures of it, but none of us were professional photographers with the equipment for night shots. There was an…effervescence to the mountain. It was awe-inspiring and a memory picture I hope I never forget. 20140808_210242

The second half of the walk was done by moonlight, which is a little intimidating for a klutz like me. There were a few spots where the trees were so thick, we had to use the flashlights, but mostly, we navigated by nature’s own light. And no one fell. I’ve never done anything like that before and it was one of the coolest things EVER.

This picture isn’t very flattering, but I honestly don’t care.20140808_205407 I was having SO much fun! And I hope you all get or have gotten the chance to see just how glorious this place we live is, whether it’s on a mountain peak or in our own backyards, eh?

18 responses to “Moonglow Awesome

  1. What an awesome thing to do, Laurie. It sounds absolutely fabulous and quite an adventure. So often we don’t take time to do these things but when we do it’s mind blowing. We have midnight owl and bat walks in my neck of the woods…you’ve inspired me to look into them a bit deeper!

  2. Uh oh. I think I just lost a friend for a while. In a good way, of course. I have a friend who’s a self-professed bird nerd with a special love for owls. If I tell her they do night walks for owls in your area, she’ll hop a plane. Lol. And yes, I’m very glad I reminded myself about Mother Nature’s majesty with this hike. It was…AWESOME. 🙂

  3. I agree with Tricia on the word awesome. An experience that you can bank to enjoy over and over. You did a good job on the pictures. I envy you the walk and the weather that was so perfect to do it in.

  4. I saw the moon from my apartment. Not as fun an experience as you had!

  5. Valerie J. Patterson

    What an incredible journey! And you say that picture is not flattering? I think it’s a great picture. The joy on your face goes right to your eyes!! Clearly, you are happy, and that’s what matters in the end!! I would love to see Mt. Rainier…and to see it during a supermoon would be awesome!! 😛 😛

    • Oh, yeah. It was totally fun! And anytime you want to come see our mountain, Valerie, just shout. 🙂

      • Valerie J. Patterson

        Thank you, Laurie! I will do just that. After all, can’t come see the mountain without visiting you and Lavada! Just wouldn’t seem right! 😛

      • I’d love for you to come this way Valerie. We have a lot to see.

      • Valerie J. Patterson

        Lavada, the hubby and I have talked about a nice long trip out west. I would love to see your mountain! And I want to take the new bridge into Alaska. A friend of mine tells me there’s no better way to see Alaska than by driving through it! If we finalize some plans, I’ll let you both know. It would be great to meet you both!! 😛

  6. Having posting issues so I hope this shows up this time. What a great evening and wonderful experience. I love the photo too. I think it had to be a magnificent day.

  7. What a fantastic thing to do! Awesome, indeed.

  8. Fab idea, Laurie. Will see if I can come up with something!

Leave a Reply

