Book Review – Sonata For a Scoundrel by Anthea Lawson

Every once in a while, I read a story where the author’s passion truly shines Sonatathrough. Such is the case with Sonata For a Scoundrel, by Anthea Lawson. This story, set in the 1830s, when women were not readily accepted as musical composers, centers around Clara Becker, who is gifted at composition. And who must hide behind her brother’s name, even as she yearns to tell Europe’s most gifted musician, Darien Reynard, that she writes what he plays. That she writes for him.

This story is filled with angst and joy and, most of all, with passion. For music and for love. I was mesmerized and highly recommend this story. Even if you don’t generally read historicals (as is the case with me), I think you’ll find the emotion in Sonata For a Scoundrel pulls you in.

Here’s the blurb from the author’s website:

The Muse…

Clara Becker is a supremely gifted composer–a talent of little to use to a woman in 1830s Europe. Her compositions only have worth when they are published under her brother’s name, yet this deception barely enables them to scrape out a living in the poorest quarter of London.

Meets the Master…

Darien Reynard, the most celebrated musician in Europe, pursues success with a single-minded intensity. When he comes across Becker’s compositions, he knows that this music will secure his place in history. Darien tracks the composer down and, with some difficulty, convinces the man to tour with him. Mr. Becker agrees, but with the most unusual condition that he bring along his sister…

Set against the glittering backdrop of 19th century celebrity, Sonata for a Scoundrel is the newest full-length historical romance novel from RITA-nominated author Anthea Lawson.

9 responses to “Book Review – Sonata For a Scoundrel by Anthea Lawson

  1. Sounds good. Like you, I’m not a great historical reader, but so enjoy a book that is packed with emotion. Thanks for the heads-up, Laurie.

  2. My wife loves stories and movies about this time period. She wishes she had been born then, but like the book suggests, women were treated quite unfairly in many ways. I doubt if my very assertive wife would have liked that.

    • By all means, let your wife know this is a great story, but it’s also pretty spicy. And I don’t want to give the ending away, but I think your wife would like how Clara’s story finishes up. 🙂

  3. I have read all of Anthea Lawson’s books except this one and somehow missed it. Will have to rectify this oversight as I love her stories. Thanks for the review Laurie.

  4. sounds great. I love stories where the heroine is doing an unexpected job or career.

    • I’ve read a couple of other Anthea Lawson books. She’s done some interesting locales, too. I like that she writes in places and with occupations that are outside the “normal” romance box. 🙂

  5. What an intriguing plot idea. Yet again, another author I’ve not come across but this certainly sounds worth reading.Thanks for bringing to us.

Leave a comment