AUTUMN

AUTUMN

Can you believe that we are already in the middle of September?  We have had an extremely busy summer, mostly just getting caught up on the farm.  Jim has had an amazing garden this year (I’m glad it’s almost the end of the garden season).  For some reason we have never been able to grow really good corn but this year he started it in his green house and put it out when it was about four inches tall.  It really grew, like seven feet tall.  I told him I could get lost in there.  The corn has been great and we have given it to anyone that even looks interested but tomorrow is corn picking day and we have to get it all picked and in the freezer before it gets too old.  I really feel like I’m ready for some real food instead of eating from the garden constantly.  Healthy right??  Oh and the zucchini, we couldn’t even beg people to take it.  I did find a really good recipe from Paula Dean that I will share with you.  Even Jim thinks it’s the best he has ever tasted.  We’ll see if he thinks that after I’ve made 20 some loaves this winter from all the zucchini he has grated and frozen.

Part of my summer, of course, was taken up with Fairs!!  My youngest granddaughter is still showing goats so I’m getting to be pretty knowledgeable about goats!!  We have had a lot of fun and she did very well with her little herd this summer.  Maybe even made enough to cover some expenses!!  The one thing she did different this year was show a sheep in the Market Animal class and sold it at the 4-H auction.  Just by luck she had the Grand Champion Market Sheep at our fair so she was pretty excited.  She was also playing softball while all this was going on and was in a National Tournament during one of the fairs, so she showed her animals, bribed her cousin to help with the goats and headed off to play in the tournament.  As you can guess our life gets a little crazy sometimes but I was lucky to get to stay with the goats and babysit the cousin, lots of fun, really!

Hope each of you are having a wonderful season.  ENJOY.  Oh and if you need zucchini stop by my house.

Zucchini Bread

  • 3 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 3 cups sugar
  • 1 cup vegetable oil
  • 4 eggs, beaten
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 2 cups grated zucchini
  • 1 teaspoon lemon juice
  • 1 cup chopped walnuts or pecans

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. In a large bowl, combine flour, salt, nutmeg, baking soda, cinnamon and sugar. In a separate bowl, combine oil, eggs, water, zucchini and lemon juice. Mix wet ingredients into dry, add nuts and fold in. Bake in 2 standard loaf pans, sprayed with nonstick spray, for 1 hour, or until a tester comes out clean. Alternately, bake in 5 mini loaf pans for about 45 minutes.
7 responses to “AUTUMN

  1. yummy, I love zucchini bread. The weather this year was conducive to growing. We started summer early for one thing and then the record heat. I’m good with it all, now that the A/C is in.

    We went to the Western Washing Fair, an annual thing with the family. It was a long day, we left at 8:00 and I walked in the door just before 7:00. Took a few days to get some of the soreness out and again I’ve vowed to get into shape. 🙂

    I’ve said it before but…. you and Jim are 5+ star grandparents. I’ve done the fair as an exhibitor when we had the horses and not sure I’d be up for it anymore.

    • Remember if you need zucchini I’ll jump in the car and run it up. Fairs are still fun but my patience run a little short sometimes!! See you soon

  2. Oooh, thanks for the recipe. And I wish I lived closer to you. I’d grab some of those zuchini. Our neighbor didn’t have a good growing year for those, so I have to BUY them. 🙂 Kudos to your granddaughter for doing so well with the goats and sheep!

  3. Thanks for the recipe, a friend of mine has a glut of zuchini (we call them courgettes!) so will try it out. What a busy summer you’ve all had. When do you get time to relax? Maybe things slow down soon!

  4. Love your post. I’m not big on zuchini, always find them too bitter for my tastebuds no matter how I cook them. With the glut and the fair and the farm you’ve certainly had a busy summer. Wish I had your energy. Perhaps I should eat more zuchini. 😉

  5. You’ve certainly had a busy time, Nancy, and it’s so great how involved you are in your grandchildren’s lives. They will always treasure that. Would love to try out that recipe, especially as I’ve vowed to do more cooking!

  6. I love that you’re still involved with the goat project. I’ve been seeing so many cute goat videos online. They must be fun to be around and watch. The bread recipe looks great. Jillian

Leave a Reply

