It’s September and that means fun

Part of the reason I love September is the Washington State Fair (formally the Puyallup Fair).  Until I moved to Washington, I’d never attended a state fair.

I really love the fair.  Who am I kidding, I love the fair food.  Krusty pups (corn dogs), fair scones, ice cream, burgers that would feed two, fries that would feed a family of 4, and the BBQ.

But aside from the food, I enjoy walking around, looking at all the animals, the crafts, and checking out what new stuff at the show pavilion.

The last few years they’ve had some special exhibits, but this year’s special exhibit is more geared for kids as its all dinosaurs.  I like dinosaurs, but from the way the exhibit is described it’s more for kids to learn than adults.

The only thing I do dislike is the days getting shorter, it’s getting darker earlier in the evening and stays dark in the mornings.  I miss the sun staying out until nine at night.

And no month would be complete without a Penny pictures, so here she is.  I can’t take her to the fair with me, but she’ll have fun at doggy day camp running around play.  But this face says it all.

20160821_133122

 

 

5 responses to “It’s September and that means fun

  1. Yep, looks like Penny’s ready for some hibernation. 🙂 I know what you mean about the fair. It’s fun to walk around and see everything. We used to go on opening morning, but it’s SO crowded we haven’t gone in a few years now. I need to figure out a day to get down there and walk around. 🙂

  2. We went to the fair Sunday before last. A long day, like I left the house at 8:00 and walked in the door a few minutes before 7:00. And, we ate are way through it. I like the shorter days because I’m ready to call it a day around 7:00 and it’s hard to do that with the sun still bright and shining. But it can stop here I don’t want them to get any shorter. September is a beautiful month with the fall colors.

    You could make a calendar of Penny pictures. She looks so warm and cuddled up in this one. Perfect for September.

  3. They just try to make us feel guilty–and they do!!

  4. Haven’t been to a fair for a long, long while. We don’t seem to have many here nowadays. Love the colours of September but not the diminishing warmth and wish I could go into hibernation until Spring. Penny looks snug, she’s a smart dog. 🙂

  5. Ahh. Sweet Penny. She’s a doll.
    I used to love the state fair. Haven’t been in years as ours has gotten to be pretty sketchy and full of riff-raff.
    Happy fall. It’s still in the 90s here. Jillian

Leave a Reply

