Ditching the Apostrophe T

Wall3Okay, this has to be the most boring photo you’ve ever seen, right? But I’m very proud of it myself. You see, this little wall has been stripped, prepared, papered and painted…by moi 🙂

I’ve never tried my hand at wallpapering before and I’m rather pleased with how it’s turned out. Why only one wall? you may ask. Well, we place the puppies’ beds against this wall and the little monkeys had a tendency to lean over and chew the wallpaper when we weren’t looking. Since we’re having a new floor laid next week, I wanted to get this wall redecorated before the fitters arrive. Of course, we’d left it too late to hire the man who usually does our decorating, so I thought, why not? I’m glad I took the plunge.

It made me think about other things I might be able to try my hand at around the house but have always dismissed because I thought I couldn’t. Changing an electric plug, painting the back of the garage wall a deep terracotta shade to give it a Mediterranean feel, resurfacing our pine table and chairs, using the electric drill…the list goes on. So what if trying all these things were as simple as hanging that wallpaper turned out to be? What if it’s as easy as taking a deep breath and thinking ‘I can’ instead of ‘I can’t’ – as easy as dropping that apostrophe T 🙂

Well, riding high from my current success, I’m willing to give some other jobs a try. How about you? When did you drop the apostrophe T and think ‘I can’ instead of ‘I can’t’? How did it turn out?

Now, where’s that electric drill?

11 responses to “Ditching the Apostrophe T

  1. Well done you. When you’ve had a bit more practice, I’ve plenty of jobs around my place you could tackle. 🙂 Seriously, it’s amazing what one can achieve when you set your mind to it. Though I draw the line at the lawnmower and electric hedge trimmers.

  2. Oh my goodness! Would you move next door to me and be my best friend? 😉 I used to be Handy Hilda but as I get older, I’m afraid I’ll break my neck if I do certain things. (That’s my excuse and I’m sticking to it.) You did a fabulous job and deserve to be very proud of yourself.

  3. Me, too! My husband has a real dislike for wall-papering, so I’m keeping you in mind when I’m ready. LOL. Well done, Tricia. VERY well done! As for me and ditching my own “apostrophe T”, I’ve been doing that for a couple years, dealing with my fear of heights and closed spaces. And last night, I think I made the decision to try zip-lining (if my body can handle it). So yep. I’m on the CAN wagon.

  4. Laurie, Zip Lining, Really? Talking from experience I’d say go for it and there is no better one than the family owned zip line on Camano Island.

    Tricia, great post and the writer in you shows with defining the action by taking out the apostrophe T. As you know this past year I’ve been working at getting more and more of those pesky things out of my life. One of the biggest was learning how to use that big green mower. It’s funny how the little things that I’m managed can excite me so much. You’d think I’d walked on the moon instead of negotiating free delivery of the new freezer that I just did this week. Ahhhh life! Always surprising isn’t it?

    • Oh indeed, Lavada, life is always surprising. I remember when you tackled the big green mower 🙂 and I agree about the little things being so meaningful. Well done on your freezer negotiation!

  5. Valerie J. Patterson

    What a wonderful CAN-DO spirit you have! It’s contagious! I think your wall looks fantastic. I like to try new things, too. You just never know you can do it until you get at trying it. Great blog, Tricia! 😛

    • Thanks, Valerie. The buzz of trying new things is pretty exciting, isn’t it? Inspired by the wallpapering, I’m off to paint the doorframe today. There’s no stopping me now 😉

  6. I like the way you think. Going to drop some ‘t myself!

Leave a comment