What’s in your closet?

So it’s that time again. Spring Cleaning has begun in our house. My husband and I have decided it’s time to clear the clutter. To that end, I started with closets. Wow. Were they ever FULL! We had ugly, wet weather here for a while, so it’s been a good indoor chore and we’ve gotten through most of them.

The scary thing, though, is now we have ROOM in each closet. They are no longer filled to the brim with, well, junk. Want to take bets on how long we’ll keep them that way? I’m still trying to figure out how we accumulated all this stuff. Yikes!

Of course, our spare room is now full of piles. Check with the kids piles, give to charity piles, try to sell piles. So the work isn’t over.

And after closets, there’s shampooing carpets and washing windows and…well, the list goes on and on and you all probably have a similar one, so I won’t hash that out.

Once the weather warms up, though, the real work begins. Remember this Markgardenpicture from last year? Well, that “shed” is 70 feet by 20 feet. And the back half is full of…you guessed it…junk! That will be our summer project. In fact, we’ve already begun by asking our children to go through the boxes we are storing for them and either take them, give them away, or verify they still want us storing them.

Yep. Spring Cleaning is in full swing here, even if the weather isn’t saying “it’s Spring!”. And, this next week, we’re supposed to hit 70 degrees for the first time this year. So things are looking up.

So…how are your closets doing? 🙂

14 responses to “What’s in your closet?

  1. Valerie J. Patterson

    Thankfully, our local “Spring Cleaning Free Trash Removal For All Residents Day” is about to be upon us and they will take everything except tires and cement blocks. The bubbly hubby and I are also cleaning out the barn and getting rid of whatever’s been in there for more than a year and not used during that time. That’s my rule this year. If it’s been “put away” for over a year and not used it’s going out the door! Got to declutter before it takes over. lol 😛

  2. You guys are making me feel better. I’ve been bemoaning all the cleaning and de-cluttering of this move. I have still moved more than I should but when I think of the boxes, and boxes of things we’ve given away and the dump runs and the garage sale it is mind boggling how we could have accumulated so much. One thing that is working is we have grandkids still in the acquiring stage so some of it has helped them.

    • Lavada, I think you’re the reason I’m on this “clear it out” tack. You’ve done SO much “clearing out” in the last few months, it inspired me. 🙂

  3. It wasn’t long ago I had a declutter-fest, not that you’d know it from looking around my house. We’re in the process of moving everything out of the living room for a new floor to be laid next week and I can’t believe how much “stuff” we still have. The problem is, we tend to move things from the house and put them in the garage, so this year’s main project will be the garage itself. I’m not looking forward to that, as the last time we did it we were awash with the creepy crawlies we’d disturbed. Eeek!

    • Oooh, new flooring. That can freshen and change the look of an entire room. Have fun (once it’s over) enjoying that flooring! You’re comment about creepy crawlies reminded me to make sure everyone remembers that, if they are working in dusty, rarely disturbed places like attics, sheds, outbuildings…wearing protective gloves and face mask can be very important. We had a neighbor ONE BLOCK AWAY in our somewhat urban neighborhood contract HANTA virus from cleaning up a rodent nest he found in his shed. He survived, but was pretty sick for a while. Who’d have thought Hanta would hit so close to home?

  4. Yuck that doesn’t even sound fun! My summer project the barn!! That’s where all our junk ends up. Enjoy soring!!

  5. We’ve decluttered several times over the last few years as we don’t have a lot of storage space and no garage. Although I can’t speak for the garden shed – that’s his domain and one I keep well out of. Having chronic asthma I disappear for the day when Dave decides to have a sort out and as I can’t stand creepy crawlies I give it a wide berth – it’s a good excuse and I’m sticking to it! 😉

    • That sounds like a good day for shopping, or lunch with the girlfriends, Kit. And there’s something to be said for not having much space to store things. I’ve got holes in my closets now and am praying I don’t just fill them back up. lol

  6. I need to do the same thing. In fact, I got hit in the head today with a pile of shirts.

Leave a Reply

