Merry Christmas!

This week brings us Christmas and I hope you and your family have a wonderful one. I love being with friends and loved ones all through the year but Christmas is really special. I pray good things for all of you in the year ahead as well. cookie 2

I’ve been busy non-baking. I made a no bake éclair cake as well as some no  bake cookies. I know I recently shared a recipe but I’m giving another one now as this is so easy and fast, who wouldn’t want to have it on hand in case of unexpected company. Takes less than five minutes to assemble and sets in about 40 minutes. Easy!

1 3/4 cup of sugar

1/2 cup milk

1 stick of butter or margarine (I like butter- makes it creamier)

1/4 cup cocoa powder.

Mix all of the above in a LARGE pan. Let the butter melt and, stirring constantly, mix the other ingredients together. Boil for a minute and a half.

Remove from heat and stir in 3 cups of instant (or quick cooking) oats and a 1/2 cup of smooth peanut butter. Then add 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract. (always add vanilla after cooking as vanilla evaporates when heated).

Drop tablespoonfuls of the mixture on parchment paper or foil. Let sit until set. About 40 minutes.  Then eat!

While you’re enjoying your cookies, here’s a free ebook from S. F. Chancellor (one of my writing alter-egos)- it’s free until the 24th. 6114lUgRXVL__SX310_BO1,204,203,200_

 

 

10 responses to “Merry Christmas!

  1. Oooh, I LOVE those cookies. Make them myself and they are yummy! I am no-baking also, but for me, that means not baking at all. Not enough time in the day. But I’ll do some for winter cabin in January. 🙂 Thanks for the freebie story! I love that gate.

    • I’m glad you are taking it easy! And yep, these are good! The gate is in St. Augustine. I took that pic on a trip there. (and I think you read that story last year!).

  2. I got all my cookies baked early to have some for the Boy Scouts to distribute at a retirement community, so, except for the pies, only the REAL cooking is left.
    Thanks for the story! I will read it after the holidays. I love the cover!
    All the best to you and yours for Christmas.

  3. This used to be our oldest sons favorite. It was always one of the cookies on the holiday list. I’ve even put raisins in it as my kids loved chocolate covered raisins. Now if I made them I’d eat them and I’m not sure having that many around would be a good thing.

    Thanks for the story and I’m going to add to the other comments in that I love the gate. And, to have it from a picture you took is special.

  4. Love the recipe, Jillian, and that very enticing word, easy! Thank you for the book! I have downloaded and very much look forward to reading it.

  5. Valerie J. Patterson

    Will have to try these! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

