The Art of Baking by Valerie J. Patterson

Tis the season, which means shopping, decorating, and loads of baking!  I used to have time to bake.  I’m not entirely certain when that changed or even HOW that changed, but each Christmas I bake less and less.

When my nieces were younger, my sister and her daughters would come to our house on Christmas Eve and we would spend the day baking and the evening eating and chatting and laughing and opening gifts.  When it came time for them to head home, they had a wide assortment of baked goodies to take home with them, and we all had a host of new memories!

This year, I contemplated baking Christmas cookies, but had the task all to myself.  My sisters are grandmas now, and are enjoying all of the experiences having grandkids at Christmastime brings.  I didn’t feel much like dragging out all of the old recipes.  Too many cookies for two people.  Too much time as well.  One evening, I was scanning through my newsfeed on social media and stumbled across the most amazing cookie recipe.

I say amazing because it has 3 ingredients!

Yep, I said THREE!

So, on the way home from work last Friday I stopped and picked up enough ingredients to make 2 batches of cookies.  I mixed one up on Saturday morning and was amazed at the ease, the appearance of the baked product, and the flavor!

Here’s the recipe:

Cool Whip Cookies  [yes, it reads COOL WHIP]

1 box of cake mix [any flavor]

1 eight-ounce tub of Cool Whip [whipped cream]

1 egg.

Preparation:  Add powdered cake mix to mixing bowl.  Add one egg–yoke broken–and Cool Whip.  Fold gently to incorporate cake mix into cool whip, then mix thoroughly.  Drop by teaspoonfuls into confectioners sugar and coat evenly.  Place on parchment paper-lined cookie sheet and bake at 350 degrees for 12-15 minutes depending upon your oven.  For larger cookies, drop by tablespoonfuls.

Enjoy!

DSCN0960

I have made devils food cookies and orange cookies.  Up next are spice cake cookies.

Until next time, may your home be full of family and friends, may your greatest gift be love, and may your Christmas be blessed!

10 responses to “The Art of Baking by Valerie J. Patterson

  1. I love the recipe. It’s almost as easy as the cookie dough you buy. Like you the kids and I used to bake a variety of cookies. Them make up trays to share with plenty left in our house. It’s been a few years. In fact I haven’t really baked since the last grandson grew up and was no longer available to help. But ohhhh the memories.

    Merry Christmas

    • Valerie J. Patterson

      The memories are the best! I miss those days, but now my nieces have families of their own and they are creating new traditions with their kids. You really didn’t consider it a chore with all those hands helping, though!

      Hope you try the recipe and enjoy the cookies!

      Merry Christmas!

  2. Printing now. This is awesome. I’m taking the recipe to our family cabin weekend for the kids to make. I almost hesitate to say this, but how much of a mess can they make with these few ingredients? lol. Thanks for the recipe, Valerie. And have a very merry Christmas!

    • Valerie J. Patterson

      Enjoy the cookies with your family! So easy and sooooo good! Love that you all do the cabin getaway. More families should do that. Would certainly keep the ties tight, right?

      Merry Christmas!

  3. oh, and Merry Christmas!!!!!! Jillian

  4. I’m loving all these easy recipes! Thank you, Valerie. And a very Happy Christmas to you and yours.

Leave a Reply

