Chrismas Greetings

Another year passes, a new one awaits but I wish you all a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year. This photo is of my town’s Christmas Lights on the Town Hall with the splendid tree, volunteers work tirelessly all year to prepare the array of lights through the main street. December 2nd was Switch On day, crowds of townsfolk and visitors gather for the big moment, fireworks followed by community singing all added to the excitement. A coming together of friends old and new reminding us that we are part of a community. Sadly some people never feel included in a community of any sort but each of us can help in small ways. Many schemes work hard to help families, young people, the elderly so I want to remember them at this time of year too.

During Peter’s Big Trip I was reminded of the goodness of people, helpful small gestures made a difference. A smile warms people’s hearts. My choir, Macapello, sang in a local town centre for a children’s charity in the run up to Christmas and we performed in a retirement home in our town too. People joining in and singing with us , smiling and sharing the moments with one another warmed my heart.

I want to thank all of you too for sharing your stories and plans for Christmas but also during the year. I send best wishes for good luck, health and happiness for 2019 to you and you families.

5 responses to “Chrismas Greetings

  1. Merry Christmas to you and Peter, also, Jane. Your town center looks awesome. I love caroling, but alas, singing in tune is not one of my talents. I do some pretty good Christmas renditions when I’m alone in my car, though. 🙂

  2. Your town is beautiful. It doesn’t look very big, is it considered a small town? Lacey/Olympia where I live used to be, but it is growing. Wishing you and Peter a Merry Christmas and the brightest of 2019.

  3. The Christmas lights look gorgeous, Janey, and I’m glad the ‘switch on’ was a success. I hope you had a wonderful Christmas and wish you and Peter the very best of everything for 2019.

  4. Hope you had a merry Christmas, Jane. Love the town lights. Our town’s were rather a let down this year and very dull. What a year 2018 was for you and Peter. Wishing you both an exceptionally good 2019. 🙂

  5. Sounds like a wonderful festive season for you! Merry Christmas a bit late. JIllian

Leave a comment