A Silly Little Story

Jillian here. Welcome to November. I have been reading about everyone’s travels and wishing I’d been winging away to somewhere fun. Alas, I am working, working, working. I actually have to have another surgery (appreciate some prayers on the 14th) and so I’m trying to work hard to clear my decks before being out for a bit. I am also doing NaNoWriMo- yes, I am crazy.  Just lock me up!

Since it’s been dullsville here in the Florida panhandle, I thought I’d share a silly little piece of flash fiction I did about a year ago. The writing prompt was a picture of breakfast so I wrote this little ditty called Bacon and Eggs:

Bacon and eggs

The bell over the door of the diner tinkled announcing a customer. Tom, the short-order cook, didn’t look up. He was tired of glancing at the door and being disappointed. If only she’d come. Desperate to see her again, he forced himself to focus on the pancakes on the griddle and the sausages in the pan. Keeping everything going at the same time was a challenge when he first came to work at the hole in the wall joint. It wasn’t what he was used to but it was honest work.

“Tom?”

He couldn’t believe it. It must be his imagination. Was it really her voice? One word—his name—and he recognized it?

Afraid to turn around and have his hopes dashed, he ignored the sound and kept his attention on the food orders.

“Tom?”

There it was again. His broken heart must be working overtime to taunt him. He could swear it was her but she was gone. She’d left him long ago. He’d even moved and gotten a job in a place she’d never think to search for him. It wouldn’t be her if he looked. He was sure of it.

“Tom. Please.”

Inhaling deeply, he turned to face the person who relentlessly spoke his name.

Stunned to see the woman he loved and lost, he couldn’t find words. He stared in amazement.

“I’ve found you at last.” She smiled and held her hand out. “Won’t you come home?”

“But you said you couldn’t love me.”

“I was wrong. I see that now.” She stared at the griddle. “What you’ve done is beautiful.”

“I have learned not to burn the bacon and scald the eggs.”

“Please come home. I never meant you to leave. I only wanted you to learn to cook.”

9 responses to “A Silly Little Story

  1. Haha. I love it! A nice little chuckle for the day. And yep, sending prayers and hugs winging your way. 🙂 I’ll be thinking about you on Tuesday and hoping it’s an easy day.

  2. A good way to start the morning. Will be thinking of you next week. Hopefully the recovery time won’t mess up Thanksgiving. You’re cutting it close there. Don’t over do, take care of yourself.

  3. I enjoyed reading your story, Jillian. It made me smile 🙂 I hope everything goes well for you tomorrow, will be sending out positive thoughts for a speedy recovery.

    • thanks Tricia- I got a call today that my insurance company wants me to do four more months of hormone therapy before I can have the surgery. This is distressing to me as I am in pain and have been bleeding every day for months. I can’t even think straight at the moment over this.

  4. Oh, and good luck with NaNo!

Leave a Reply

