The Story of Old Blue

Jillian here. I thought I’d share a bit of fun this month just because I laughed so hard at my husband over this. He and I disagree on what we like to drink out of. I like glass and crystal, he likes plastic. Being a big hiker, camper and fisherman, I think he is addicted to plastic.

He also has a bad habit of opening the dishwasher and not emptying it so I don’t know if it has clean or dirty dishes. We have one of those things that you can switch to tell you, but he never uses it. Since the light goes off when you open the door, I end up putting in dirty stuff and have to run the wash cycle again.

Anyway, he has this cup he’s been drinking out of almost constantly lately. It looks like one of the disposable cups you see at gatherings but it’s a hard plastic and reusable.

One day last week, he came in from outside and asked, “Where is Old Blue?”

Puzzled, I shook my head and said, “Old Blue? Huh?”

“My blue cup, I like to drink out of,” he said.

“In the dishwasher and if you open it to get that cup out, you better empty the whole thing.”

He cocked his head to one side and said, “I’ll have to leave him there for now.”

Laughing, I said, “Poor you.”

“I know.” He pulled an fishing cup down from the cabinet.

“What would you do it something happened to Old Blue? Like if it cracked?”

“It won’t but if it does, I have Old Green and Old Yellow in the garage in my camping stuff.”

“Okay, then at least you have a back up plan.”

Several hours later, he came by with a medieval stemmed cup made of metal we got at some festival. I said, “I emptied the dishwasher, you can use Old Blue now.”

“This is wine. Old Blue can’t be used for wine.”

So there you go, male logic at its best. Wine in stemware and everything else in plastic. FullSizeRender (2)

Here’s a pic of Old Blue caught unawares.

8 responses to “The Story of Old Blue

  1. Hahaha. I LOVE it! (And the counters look great, too!)

  2. A fun way to start my day. Thanks for sharing!😃

  3. Thanks for my morning chuckle!
    I’m with you on drinking. The only plastic I drink out of are from water bottles. Unless I’m at a party or picnic where that’s what’s being used. At home – glass. Always!

  4. So funny and I agree a great way to start the day. And, I like the counters too. 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

