“Mish-Mash”

I have found it difficult this month to write a blog! I had loads of random thoughts (Mish-Mash) about various activities I have done in the past month and cannot focus enough on any of them to develop them fully.  I hope you will relate to this and enjoy what I have produced!  I understand authors often face similar problems, I am not an author!

I have enjoyed fun and interesting times recently – went to London to the latest David Hockney exhibition at Tate Britain with a good friend; had a day walking in Dartmoor National Park with my husband Peter; visited the Bruegel exhibition in Bath at my favourite museum The Holburne; The Georgian House in Bristol was a glimpse into an elegant past; shared several birthday celebration lunches with various groups of friends; watched my youngest granddaughter Alice perform a solo in a Showcase with her Stage School; experienced caring kindness when a another friend (an excellent chef)  realised I wasn’t doing as well as I kept insisting so baked me a delicious lemon drizzle cake; BUT mainly realised again how lucky I am to have wonderful people in my life!

Amidst this activity I have had a few health challenges which I try to handle and take the advice to “slow down”! Not easy!!  I have used this as an excuse to allow myself to read copiously and try not to feel guilty and self-indulgent.  Several historical novels have been distracting, S J Parris is an author recently recommended by a friend – Sacrilege and Treachery are two novels I enjoyed set in Elizabethan Times.

The book that really caught my imagination is Rare Objects by Kathleen Tessaro.  The setting is Boston during Prohibition The Great Depression, the main character Maeve bluffs her way into a job in an Antique Shop which helps her to transform her life.  Maeve has had a tough time in Jazz Age New York and has returned home to try to stabilise herself and move on.  Through various unexpected meetings Maeve becomes embroiled with members of a wealthy, dysfunctional family.  The main theme of the book – nothing is what it seems, not in a supernatural sense, but in the roles people play, how they project their personas and the process of recovery.  I really enjoyed escaping into a fascinating world. Boston is a city I love and have spent some wonderful times in so my memories may have coloured my response.

I finish with this post from a friend on facebook.  It struck a chord with me as things sometimes do.  Thank you all for your support and interesting blogs, it is amazing that we all carry on our varied daily lives which we share via the wonders of the internet!

 

 

http://www.tate.org.uk/whats-on/tate-britain/exhibition/david-hockney

http://www.holburne.org/

 

10 responses to ““Mish-Mash”

  1. Jane, you may call this Mish-mash, but I sense a theme. A coming out of the darkness theme. Last year was pretty rough for you. And maybe you’ve always been good at finding the joy in everything, both big and small. That is definitely what I see in this post. Joy of life and everything in it. And that story sounds fabulous!

  2. I had to come back and post again because I wanted to say how much Manchester, and all of England, is in our thoughts right now. Sigh. Sending prayers.

  3. Thank you Laurie on behalf of all of us, it is dreadful as so many young people. Mancunians are strong and have really rallied together, all communities. I’m pleased you understand the gist of the post! I am lucky. If you click on the book you will get to Amazon and more details of book. Peter did something fancy!! I wish you were nearer then I could pass it on.

  4. Lovely post, Janey. You’ve been doing a lot this past month, especially for someone who is supposed to be ‘taking it easy’ for a while. The book sounds interesting. Maeve sounds like a strong woman negotiating difficult times…my kind of heroine. Hope you enjoyed your lemon drizzle cake! x

  5. You have amazing people in your life because YOU are an amazing lady. I can’t say it better than Laurie. I love the joy in you and I too wish we lived closer not only to share reading but enjoy each others company.

    Laurie thank you for bring up Manchester, my heart too goes out to them.

  6. It would be great to meet you and Laurie. You are kind in your comments but luck is needed to mett these people in the first place. Tricia is especially wonderful and supportive as well as fun. Manchester is still resonating but the people are determined to stay as “normal” as possible. Only way.

  7. Love that you are enjoying life and doing lots but for someone who’s been through a lot you certainly have been busy but, please, take it easy and enjoy more reading, especially now that summer’s threatening us. We care about you.

    As to Manchester, we are all still reeling with such despicable deeds. If only those idiots realised how precious and valuable life and families are. We will not be beaten down!

    • Thanks Kit, you are so supportive and I love your paintings, especially the bluebells which have special significance for me. Manchester and London but love and people triumph. Such bravery. Summer? Mmm, pouring again here!! But who knows what’s around the corner.

  8. sounds like a great month of activities. Would have loved to go to the Tate exhibit and the Bristol and Bath adventures. Sorry you had some medical issues – the book sounds great and I love the poster at the end. So true. Jillian

  9. Thank you Jillian. We all have up and down phases for various reasons but good friends are the key. I’m reading a great book at moment based on Coco Chanel by G.W. Gortner, fascinating.

Leave a Reply

