Catch Up Blog…

As this new year starts, I’ve been itching to organize my house, my life, and my thoughts. As part of this, I recently went back and looked at some of the things I’ve posted here. I feel like I’ve left some things hanging with regard to my blogs, so I thought I’d start the new year out with some closure.

I talked a lot about family memories as we cleared out Mom’s house in May. We were lucky because she got to help us with the process and they are memories I will treasure forever. Here’s a couple pictures of her wedding dress that I thought you’d appreciate.

p1110961 weddingNeedless to say, her dress went back in her cedar chest for future generations to ooh and ahh over.

My July blog was all about how I was starting to meditate and I got some great tips from everyone on how to proceed with that. Sadly, I did not keep it up. I find it very hard to just sit and “be” without doing anything but thinking to myself. Which means I really need to get back to it, because I probably don’t relax enough. Lately, though, I’ve been focusing on getting outdoors for walks. It seems to be feeding my soul right now. However, I’ve kept “get back to meditating” on my 2017 to-do list, so don’t give up on me. I’ll tackle it again sometime.

In August, I posted pictures of our pressure-washed shop we were about to have painted. After agonizing over colors, we ended up choosing something very similar to what we already had. Here’s the before and after pics. We did both the house and this shop in the same color and have been very happy with it.

P1110920p1120211

In October, I blogged about the pampas grass in our backyard and how we usually lose at least half of our beautiful plumes by the end of October due to wind storms. Well, I’m happy to say that until two days ago, every single one of those plumes was still standing. We did finally lose five of them yesterday when a brisk north wind blew through. Has it been cold enough for y’all? We hit 16 degrees last night. Well below freezing. Brrrr.

p1120200

Lastly, I’ve successfully crocheted a hat and a headband I spoke of last month, in anticipation of trying to teach grandchildren this hobby. (Still haven’t completed the baby blanket I started 26 years ago, though.) Our cabin adventure with our kids is in a couple weeks, so you can bet there will be a future blog to let you know how that went. 🙂

Just for a little laugh as I close this out, here’s a picture of my parents and siblings and I from way back in…well, the picture dates it quite well, I’d think. I’m the one in red. The middle child. 🙂

img_0356

Happy New Year, everyone! Let’s hope 2017 gets better and better as it goes along.

8 responses to “Catch Up Blog…

  1. Oh My Gosh. I loved the blog this morning. Catch up is a great idea. It also brings out the very busy year you’ve had. Love the pictures, especially the wedding dress. So many memories. And the one of the pampas grass. Do you ever pick it and bring it in the house for decor?

    I’ve thought about meditating but like you I don’t think I could sit still without a book in my hand.

    • Glad you liked it. I knew I’d let some things drop and needed to catch up. Lol. I’ve never cut the plumes off our grass. I’m not sure where I’d put them inside. I’d probably have to buy a large vase. So I’ll just stick to the enjoyment I get looking out my window at them…until they fall to Father Wind, that is. 🙂

  2. I love the gown- so lovely and how awesome that it seems to still be in lovely condition. I love that. Great picture of the family too. The shed looks nice!

  3. Great blog. Love your mother’s wedding dress, and so pleased you decided not to let it go. A family treasure! Good luck in getting back to meditating, and with the walking, both things I need and must do more of this year. Love the family photo too. 🙂

  4. Apologies for taking so long to comment, Laurie. One of those senior moments which are increasing in frequency lately 🙂 where I thought I’d commented but hadn’t. Love your mother’s wedding dress, a real keepsake, as are the lovely family photos. Big hugs to you.

Leave a Reply

