Heirloom Crocheting…maybe?

p1120167I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned it on this blog, but I’m crocheting a baby blanket. It’s absolutely beautiful (I think) and is all single crochet, so it’s very dense and warm. This blanket has become somewhat of a family heirloom and I’m not even done with it.

How could that be? you ask. Well, because I started it with the intention of giving it to our eldest daughter in advance of our first grandchild’s birth. Ummm, that grandchild turns 25 years old next month.

Yep. I’ve been working on this baby blanket for 25 years. 26 if you count that I started it while she was still pregnant with our grandson. Sigh. I’m clearly not the most prolific crocheter. Lol. Honestly, it’s not that I hate crocheting or knitting, I’m just not…well, honestly, I don’t know why I didn’t finish it. I think I get frustrated. The picture doesn’t show my uneven ends or screwed up stitches (I hope), only the beauty of the pattern.

It’s kind of a beloved family thing, though, as I take it to our winter cabin weekend each year and work on it some more. They all enjoy seeing my progress. And I really am about one skein away from completing it. Good thing, too, since our grandson has had a steady girlfriend for about two years now.

But the thing I really need to explain is this picture:p1120156-3

Yep. You guessed it. I started ANOTHER crocheting project. 🙂 Our cabin adventure is coming up next month and we have a couple granddaughters who I thought would love to learn to crochet.  *crazy person speaking here* So silly me, I thought maybe I could teach them. Since they love football (different teams, though) I thought I could show them how to make beanies in their favorite team colors.

Before I can show them, I need to know if I can actually crochet one of these buggers. Hence the weird yarn in my hand. I’m happy to say that four days into it, I haven’t thrown it into the fire and grabbed the bottle of wine. (Not glass, mind you…bottle.) I’m still plucking away at it and I think it’s going pretty well.p1120164

And six days into it, I’m feeling a bit more confident. It doesn’t quite fit on my head yet, though…img_20161204_184746081

So wish me luck. If I can get this one done, I’ll be able to kick start their adventures into the world of crocheting. Maybe they’ll like it, maybe they won’t. But I’ll have shown them something that may well become an extinct practice one day soon. And I’ll have done something totally Grandmother-ish, which  makes me very happy.

I hope you all have an awesome holiday season and complete all your projects in time. Have a safe and happy entry to the New Year, too!

13 responses to “Heirloom Crocheting…maybe?

  1. I’m sitting here laughing my head off. I’ve crocheted and even tried knitting though my dad said my mother and I should sell tickets to the teaching sessions with the knitting. For one thing I’m left handed and the minute she touched something it would be backward for me. However 26 yrs may well be a record for construction. 🙂 🙂

    Love the blog this morning what a way to kick start this cold morning.

    • I KNEW you’d love this blog, Lavada. It’s kind of a tongue-in-cheek look at how badly I procrastinate on tasks I’m not good at. Lol. And, being the wife of a lef-hander, I’ve heard the stories. I feel like all of us right-handers need to apologize for trying to make you lefties conform. Lol. But, as my husband says (regularly) – Left-handed people are in their right mind. 🙂

  2. Ahhhh! I’m so glad I’m not the only one. I did (started) a crewel birth sampler for my oldest son. I got it all done except for the final birth details. HIS son turned six this year.

  3. I completely misread that, Trisha. Lol. OMG, I am SO happy I’m not alone in this. Is that terrible of me?

  4. What a wonderful idea Laurie!!! I love it! (and it looks great 🙂 )

    • Yeah, if it all works out it could be pretty cool. And in a few years, maybe I can teach your little one, eh? Not sure she’d stick with it for more than two minutes right now. Give her a big smooch from Gramma.

  5. LOL! I love the pic and the 25 years. That would totally be me. My grandmother tried to teach me and I was all thumbs! Your expression is priceless! LOL Jillian

  6. Too funny, Laurie 🙂 A 25 year+ project, love it! That blanket will be all the precious for it, too! And I think we’ll need a follow-up photo of you in the beanie hat 🙂 Enjoy!

    • I took a pic of me in it, but I look like a snowman’s round chubby head with my hair all flattened under a beanie. So I’m guessing I won’t be showing that one on the blog. Lol. Glad you liked the post, though. I am still chuckling. Although I’m about to try a headband, which might wipe the smile right off my face. Lol.

  7. Love the pic and good luck with the new project. I used to knit, crochet and sew but the old fingers can’t manage it any more.

Leave a Reply

