The Shoemaker’s Wife

13127599I just finished this story and wanted to write my thoughts while the story is still real and fresh, though this one is going to stay with me for awhile

Again I owe a thanks to the book club here at Jubilee. I really doubt I would have picked up this book on my own. The Shoemaker’s Wife is a love story with a real life ending.

Enza and Ciro face hardships both in their home in Italy and as immigrants in America. The story takes you on a journey. It is is more than just a good read. It’s an experience. Adriana Trigiani paints word pictures that made me feel like I was in the mountains of Italy. Through the poverty there was a beauty in the country. Then America, especially Hoboken, and Manhattan come to life.

The characters Enza and Ciro give ‘star crossed’ lovers depth as they find and lose each other. In the end finding a love and making a family that Ciro only dreamed of.

There is an amazing trailer on Adriana Trigiani’s website at http://adrianatrigiani.com/books/the-shoemakers-wife/ No review I could write could compare.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

10 responses to “The Shoemaker’s Wife

  1. Wow. Sounds like a powerful story. Thanks for sharing it with us!

  2. I agree Lavada as I too have read this book. I’ve enjoyed a couple of her books real curl up with a cuppa and enjoy books. Thanks for reminding me.

    • Thanks for responding Jane. I didn’t do the story justice with the review. Did you get the chance to look at the trailer. Great pictures of the author’s family and some history on the book.

  3. Fantastic trailer for what sounds a great read. Am adding this to my TBR list today. Thanks for highlighting it, I’d not heard of this author before. 🙂

  4. Sounds like a good book I’ll have to pick it up. Always like when you share good books with us. See you next week

  5. wow/ sounds really good!!! Il love Italy so I’ll have to check it out. Jillian

  6. Hi mates, its enormous article about cultureand fully explained, keep it up all the time.

Leave a Reply

