It’s That Time Again! By Valerie J. Patterson

It happens every year.  There’s simply no escaping it.  You can’t run from it, hide from it, or even overlook it.  Every September–like clockwork–it happens.

What is it?  That time of year when summer ends and fall begins.

Don’t get me wrong.  I enjoy all of the seasons.  Each one brings about a creative resurgence that I absolutely love!  Winter, with its stark beauty, beckons me outdoors and into the crisp evening air to wonder at all the exquisiteness of a fresh falling snow.  Spring, with its rebirth of everything green and colorful, pulls me into the lushness of showers that result in bursts of vibrant flowers and carpets of green.  Summer, with its endless azure skies, romances me with ocean sprays and huge golden moons lighting up paths in the sand.  Autumn, with its brilliant grandeur, lures me into carefree times of yesterday when I played in the leaves, enjoyed hayrides, and carved pumpkins.

But there is something else that fall does–it comes with shorter days and less rays from the sun.  This is without a doubt the one thing about fall I dislike.  It’s dark when I rise and the darkness comes calling just a short time after I leave the office.  Sigh.  I love the cooler temperatures, but bemoan the fact there is less daylight to enjoy them.

There’s nothing I can do about it.  It happens every single year.  And I so very much look forward to those days when the daylight creeps into longer hours.  Ah yes, that too happens every single year!

Until next time, may a lilting fall breeze lift your hair, caress your face, and gently blow through your mind to inspire you.

7 responses to “It’s That Time Again! By Valerie J. Patterson

  1. I am very much a night owl. I don’t ever start working until night falls. (I am also a dancer who dances at night). I do agree that sunlight does make the days happier and more enjoyable though. As long as it isn’t hot. I hate hot weather. 🙂

    • Valerie J. Patterson

      Hi Kate! I’m a part-time night owl! lol. Through the week I have to keep normal hours but on the weekends, I’m up as late as can be. I hate hot, humid weather, too, but need those rays! Thanks so much for reading and commenting. 🙂

  2. I enjoy the cozy feel of Autumn, the crisp air. But I don’t get affected like many with the low light levels. My mother had S.A.D. But I remember that when my brothers and I were children, when it rained, she always had a stash of new coloring books and crayons and fun things to do. Left a nice feel to the dreary days I think.

  3. Fall can be really beautiful here in the Pacific NW. But it can be wet and windy too. We just had a spell of that. I just put away the outside cushions and took out some flowers so I’m feeling the pull of the season right now. Knowing it will all be back out there in a few months helps and in the meantime the shorter, cooler or cold days makes for a nice fire in the fireplace and a good book.

  4. We’ve certainly had a lovely start to autumn here in the UK. October has been largely sunny and bright, but very chilly at times. This suits me fine as I’m not an autumn/winter girl. Given the chance, I’d hibernate through until spring 🙂 Roll on spring 🙂

  5. This is probably the time of year when night-workers shine, like Kate suggested. They get to enjoy the sunshine (after catching up on their sleep, I imagine.) I actually love the shortening days. Summer always seems so busy, that the sense of hibernation I get from the encroaching darkness is welcome. (I think I may be in the minority on that, though.) 🙂

  6. It turning out to be a beautiful autumn here in UK and not too cold yet. I love the autumn colours but not what it represents and I must get out and about with my camera to capture the turning trees before it’s too late. The clocks go back here this weekend and I’m not looking forward to it. Trying my best to keep the SAD at bay. Would much rather be off somewhere warm. Oh well, perhaps next year. 🙂

Leave a Reply

