The Memory Box

I suspect the majority of us have lots of photos capturing special moments from our lives, from holidays to weddings and birthdays, gardens and those magical, often funny times. I too have loads but my biggest treasure is my Memory Box. No, not my brain, but a storebox full of those other mementos and keepsakes. In here is a collection of my life, the good and the bad. I was rifling through this yesterday in search of an item particularly pertinent to today, the third of September.

2016-09-03 11.16.01From the hospital record of my pregnancy to the order of service for my grandmother’s funeral plus sadly, many other relatives and dear friends who are no longer with us. The majority are reminders of much happier times.

A serviette and silver cake decoration from my sister’s wedding. Cards and gift tags and luck horseshoe from mine. Special cards, leaving cards, get well cards, Xmas cards; a letter of commendation from the police; letters from my mother (we used to exchange letters to keep in touch years ago because I never had a telephone), postcards, travel guides, theatre tickets and programmes, press cuttings, a video of the quiz show I took part in on television. The cork from a bottle of champagne enjoyed on my honeymoon and an envelope of first day cover stamps from Australia filled with other stamps from around the world. My daughter’s last school report, a Christmas folder she made at school. Wedding invitations. Thank you letters and cards.

So many things to ponder over and recall fondly and wonder where all the years have gone. In sorting through the box I quickly came to realise I need another box just for the kept special birthday and Christmas cards alone. One birthday card is extra-special – one that means the whole world and a rarity – one from my husband (he doesn’t do birthday cards so this was indeed so full of meaning and love!).

And there I was four hours later, still looking at all these things, opening folded letters from friends not read for a long time, the change of address notes. A complete set of decimal coins I won in a competition, and of set pre-decimal coins all dated the year I was born.  Finally, at the bottom of the box, I found what I was looking for: several ringlets of my daughter’s hair from the first time she had it cut. She must have been 4 years old. Her beautiful mane that would curl up into soft ringlets when it was washed, I loved to twine it in my fingers. Sadly, after that first cut it went straight, and has remained so ever since. Such a shame.

But why were the ringlets pertinent to today. Well, today is my daughter’s 46th birthday. It seems like only yesterday when she arrived in this world, a tiny copper-haired bundle of life the relied on me totally for her survival. She and I have come a long way since that day. There’s been good times, dark times and funny times and, with good fortune and care, there will be lots more birthdays to come. Happy Birthday, Katie.

And time to pack the Memory Box away for the moment.

I definitely need a larger box.

9 responses to “The Memory Box

  1. I seem to strew things around though I do have a drawer in my cedar chest. Like you I have so many beautiful memories and the kid’s birthdays mark my life more then mine does. I seem to remember when I was 46 when they hit it. And their ages make me realize how fast life can pass.

    Beautiful blog.

    • The scary thing is, Lavada, life goes by quicker and quicker the older we get. Seems like only yesterday when I was 46. I wonder how Katie will feel when my granddaughter reaches that age too! 🙂

  2. I, too, have a memory box. Well, at this age, I actually have 3 of them because the memories spilled over. 🙂 I actually label them my “Happy Box” now, because I can’t help but smile and be content with my life as I go through them. 🙂 I’m glad you got such a nice, long walk down memory lane, Kit! This blog, like Lavada, said, is beautiful, including the picture. Please extend happy birthday wishes from us to your daughter.
    Today is a good day. 🙂

    • Love the name “Happy Box”. Certainly true I feel more contented now than at any time in my past and going through the contents of my box always makes me feel good. I’m only sad to think that when my daughter was born, I kept a scrapbook of all the cards, gift tags, lots of photos and other bits and pieces from her first 3 years, but in between moving at least seven times by the time she was 7, the scrapbook, along with other memorabilia including my old school reports, became lost. Probably left in an attic or under the stairs somewhere. Such a shame, especially about the photos as I now have so few of her as a baby. 😦

  3. What a lovely memory box, Kit. All those beautiful things to treasure. Like Lavada, my things are all over the place in different drawers and cupboards, so I really must get down to tidying and sorting and putting them all together in a lovely box or two. Your blog reminded me of another friend who doesn’t keep anything and throws everything away (or so she says). She’s a real minimalist, but I can’t imagine not keeping little mementos of life’s path.

    Oh, and Happy Birthday, Katie! x

    • Worth spending a rainy day or two collecting and sorting all your memory treasures into pretty boxes, Tricia. It brings a sense of calmness to one’s day and going through can certainly cheer oneself up. Have passed on your good wishes to Katie. 🙂

  4. A lovely blog Kit thank you. I have memories in my mind more than things although I do have notebooks too. I like to think about the memories as jewels I polish and value especially if I’m a bit low. They grow in value each year although I fear I will lose them one day but in the meantime enjoy the moments as they become precious memories.

    • Thanks, Jane. One of the reasons I put all my treasures into a box is for that very day (though I pray it doesn’t come) when my memory fails me and I lose the past. Each item is precious, and makes us who we are. Love the analogy of memories being jewels to polish. So true! 🙂

  5. Sweet! I love the box and all its contents. Wonderful memories to sort through. And happy birthday to your daughter. I hope you need many more boxes as the years and memories keep coming. Jillian

Leave a Reply

