Sorry, I Didn’t Make it Back on the 9th

Jillian here. My all day depos really took it out of me so I had zero energy last night. I almost fell asleep on the couch three times. Remember the old days in school when your head would bob around as you tried to stay awake in class?ย  Well, I had that for sure. ๐Ÿ™‚

I thought I’d share a story and a couple of pictures of where I was yesterday. I was on the 8th floor of what we all call the SunTrust building here in Pensacola. It’s has a nine story office building attached and even though SunTrust Bank is gone, since it was their building since it was built in the 1970s, it still had that moniker.

The fun story about it is there’s this plaza on the one corner and the building was built at an odd angle to the street. The reason for the weird angle is that there was this one guy who refused to sell his house when the bank wanted to build. Since it wasn’t a government building, they couldn’t just use eminent domain and force a sale.

They cleverly built the building on the rest of the land, leaving his house intact.ย  Once he died, his heirs sold the land to the bank and then the plaza was built. It’s quite nice to see when there’s a celebration in town as lots of flags are raised there. It’s a little hard to see, but in front of the glass domed part is the plaza. I didn’t have a chance to walk around there to grab a closer view.

I love the story of the hard-headed man who didn’t want to move. Maybe because I’m hard-headed, too. ๐Ÿ™‚

thth1

12 responses to “Sorry, I Didn’t Make it Back on the 9th

  1. We have a famous house in Seattle that was the same way. It’s made quite a splash in the news. And, yes I do remember those head bobbing days in fact I’ve had a few in church. Jack always wanted to go to early services.

  2. Good for him! I love hearing about people that don’t buckle under government/commercial pressure. Our home is our home!

  3. Good for the old fella! It’s great when people refuse to bend to government pressure. As to the head bobbing… practice that often. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Valerie J. Patterson

    Way to go hard-headed fella! Your home is where your heart is, not your bank account. More people need to protect and stand up for what they believe in. Not everything/everyone has a price. As for head-bobbing…never experienced that until I took a Poli-sci course at university. Professor put me to sleep three days a week! HA!

  5. I love stories about people who refuse to sell to corporate America. Yay for the underdog!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Good on the old chap! Always cheering to hear of people sticking to their guns and putting the powers that be’s noses out of joint. It appeals to my ornery side ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

