Being Bored is… Boring

While walking Vivvy last week, I met a woman who told me with great relish that walking her dog was the most interesting part of her day and if she didn’t have her pooch her life would be so boring that she feared for her sanity. Yes, she actually used the word sanity. It shocked me, particularly because this woman seemed fairly intelligent, had all her faculties, appeared in good health and was very attractive, having taken care with her clothes, hair and make-up. Don’t get me wrong, I love walking my girl and it’s a very special part of my day. But is the rest of my day boring? No way.

Cambridge Dictionary Online defines bored as: feeling unhappy because something is not interesting or because you have nothing to do. Okay, maybe I’ve bordered on boredom, especially when I was at work and involved in achingly dull meetings, but I’ll use the time to think about something more stimulating, and for the writer in me that iusually means pondering over a story plot point, trying to figure out my latest characters, or what new marketing technique I could access that would make my latest release a bestseller (well, better to dream big than be bored, right 😉 )

I suppose what I’m trying to say is that I simply don’t understand the concept of being bored. Being bored is…well, boring.

20150928_102307

Dreaming of walkies, biscuits, and playing with my frisbee. Life’s too short to be bored.

There just isn’t enough hours in the day to explore, indulge and discover so many of life’s wonders – big and small. For me, there is too much to read for a start. I’ve got books on my shelves and on kindle, both fiction and non-fiction, that I fear I’ll never get around to reading because there is always a new book to add. There are projects around the home and garden that have been waiting for years to be tackled. Places to visit – near and far, histories to explore, cultures to discover, hobbies to try… I could go on forever.

Interestingly enough, the Guardian Online printed an article just last week asking “Why are we so bored?” According to this article, part of the problem is due to overstimulation. “The more entertained we are the more entertainment we need in order to feel satisfied . The more we fill our world with fast-moving, high-intensity, ever-changing stimulation, the more we get used to that and the less tolerant we become of lower levels.” Apparently, slower-paced activities tend to bore us because we are accustomed to these faster-paced amusements.

It’s an interesting article, but I still find myself with little patience for people who declare they are bored. Maybe I need to grow some tolerance. Guess I’ll just have to add it to the list of things to do 😉

12 responses to “Being Bored is… Boring

  1. I’ve never really had time to be bored but when my kids were growing up and would say they were bows I’d send them to clean the barn . They got so they were never bored snd to this day I never hear them say they are bored!! Nice blog. Thank you

  2. Great blog topic. I do think there are times when I get bored, but it’s more an issue of “I don’t really feel like doing anything at the moment.” Thankfully, those are few and far between or I’d be seriously concerned about depression. And yep, that to-do list and to-be-read list can keep me going for years. Lol.

    • Agreed, Laurie. Tiredness can be a culprit and can often lead to a feeling of boredom or ‘don’t feel like doing anything’ moods. Thankfully, as you say, they don’t last. Some people do seem to live their lives in a state of lethargy and ‘can’t be bothered’ though. It’s sad.

  3. Great blog Trish. We are like-minded on this and have many an hour discussing it! Long may we be “unbored”! Is there such a word? Love the photo of Vivvy. X

  4. I’ve always wondered how anyone can be bored. So much to do. But, when I feel something akin to it, like Laurie, it’s because I don’t feel like doing anything.

    Vivvy looks like she resting up for more fun. 🙂

    • I agree, Lavada. There’s always so much to do, often too much 🙂 But better to be like that than searching around for something to keep us occupied. Hope you’re having a good weekend.

  5. Great post. I’m with you, Trish. I too can never understand the concept of anyone being bored. I’ve never been bored in my life, yet Dave will constantly moan he’s bored; it’s one of the reasons he’s carried on working long after retirement age, even though he loves his garden and always watching sports on TV. Heaven help me when he does finally quit! I am sure it’s the way he was brought up with no books at home, no experience of travel or holidays etc. Whilst I often feel I can’t be bothered to do anything, the last thing I am is bored. There’s always something to see or explore. 🙂

    • Agreed, Kit. There’s always something to see or explore! I know Dave isn’t too keen to retire, and it seems there are quite a few men who feel the same. Good point about not having access to books at home, and no experience of travelling or holidays. We take these things for granted and maybe don’t realise how important they are.

  6. I feel sorry for that lady that her dog walks are the only thing keeping her sane. Gosh that seems crazy (pun intended- lol)- and I love leisure time to unwind without being stimulated. I could use more of that in my life for sure. Being unplugged and unavailable is so no boring to me. I love it! Great post. Jillian

  7. Valerie J. Patterson

    It’s a sad statement of her life if walking her dog is the pinnacle of her daily living. Also a sad testament that she has so little enjoyment in anything else. Good heavens! Does she not have family? Does she not have friends? Does she not have hobbies? Does she not travel? I absolutely love lazy days where I can read, write, watch an old musical, take a walk, or converse quietly with my spouse. And let us not forget daydreaming! Where would any writer be without such a thing? Life holds so much more than a walk with a pet. Grasp it before it is gone!

    Such a thought-provoking post, Tricia!

Leave a Reply

