April Treats!

April has been a mixed month for many of us but I have been very lucky and believe me I am not complacent. I have sent positive thoughts to all of you but thought I’d share some of my April treats with you in the hope they make you smile.

Technically, my April Treats began on 31st March but I claim poetic licence! My dear niece Rhiannon was 50 in January so I bought her a token for a two hours spa session in Bath. Her daughter Kerys, who is 21, came with us too so we made a merry inter-generational trio. Our adventure began at midday when we decided rather than shopping we would go for cocktails. A favourite bar of mine is All Bar One which serves food, coffee, and alcohol all day plus plays jazz or “good” music, my definition, in a lovely atmosphere. We were fascinated with the names of the cocktails and shakes, some of which had a teapot symbol beside them. Our helpful waiter, Alex, explained the teapots were suitable for two people. I expect Prohibition might have been similar but not as colourful. I wanted a change from my usual dacquiri or margaritta so was happily guided by the girls. Rhiannon and I had a teapot of Raspberry Berry Surprise, the base being gin, and Kerys had a “shake” which came in a small milk bottle, the base was vodka. image6They were delicious, especially with the homemade nachos to soak up the alcohol, but we decided not to have more than one as we had a long afternoon ahead! So a good start.

Next stop was the Thermae Spa in Bath, built over some of the old Roman Baths I think, on three floors. We excitedly got changed, donning our robes and slippers (provided) and headed up to the open air pool on the roof. The sun shone gloriously, as the water is a great temperature we floated gently admiring the views of the hills around Bath and the Abbey Courtyard below. On the next floor down are four aromatherapy steam rooms plus a treatment studio. We had previously decided to forgo the treatments and enjoyed the healthy cleansing of the steam rooms, I can’t remember all of them but the eucalyptus was potent! In between each room we had a shower in the mineral shower to refresh ourselves. In the basement is a beautiful pool full of minerals (apparently) and not many people. I gave the jacuzzi a miss and chose just to wallow and enjoy the relaxation. After two hours we showered and changed then on to the food treat.

We were treated by my brother to afternoon tea with prosecco in the Pump Rooms. Wonderful. Linen cloths, crystal chandeliers and classical music quartet playing softly, very civilised. The tea arrived and we were shocked image4as it was impossible to eat it all, we brought some home with us! Delicious doesn’t cover it. Our waitress picked up on birthday celebration so the quartet suddenly began playing Happy Birthday and a gorgeous chocolate muffin with a candle arrived while the staff sang and other customers applauded. Rhiannon didn’t know whether to laugh or cry and was overcome with emotion. She thought we had arranged it but waitress told her they try to do that for special occasions. The staff were professional but so helpful and friendly. A gentleman at the next table took a photo of us image2as a memento. A lady at another table came over to thank us as she had received some bad news so her husband brought her to tea from the hospital and we had made her smile. What a treat, hard to top but …

We came home where Peter, my husband, had another bottle of prosecco chilling and had booked a table in our local Italian Restaurant. We rested and sipped then off the four of us went – more food! It was excellent, usually is, and the waiters also picked up on birthday so sang! What a day. We came home unable to eat or drink another thing and fell into bed happy and content.

Two other treats for me too, one I’ll tell you about next month – Painting the Modern Garden Monet to Matisse at the Royal Academy in London. Then the Choir Convention in St. George’s Chapel, Brandon Hill, Bristol. We sang our song to 600 other members of choirs from across the West Country. It was a blast!

I hope I’ve made you smile but most importantly I hope you all have a good month of May, perhaps with the odd treat!

www.allbarone.co.uk

www.thermaebathspa.com

www.romanbaths.co.uk/pump-room-restaurant

www.casa-restaurants.co.uk

www.stgeorgesbristol.co.uk

9 responses to “April Treats!

  1. Now that’s what I call a grand day out. How lovely. Keep meaning to “do” the Bath spa treat, must make the effort one day. Looking forward to reading about your other treat too. 🙂

  2. I’m with Kit. A grand day for all of you. What a great way to spend a birthday. I bet you thanked your niece repeatedly for having a birthday, huh? And I love her name. Rhiannon. I’m a huge Fleetwood Mac fan. The pic of you all at tea is lovely, and i look forward to more stories about your lucky April. Keep them coming…

  3. Wow you put a lot in a day and what a wonderful one. This is the kind that lives forever in our memories.

  4. Sounds like a really fantastic day, Janey! You girls certainly know how to celebrate 🙂 Can imagine how relaxed and pampered you must have felt after the Spa. Love the photos.

    Oh, and if anyone would like a sneak preview of Jane’s choir and the song they sang at the Choir Convention, here’s the link: https://www.facebook.com/macapellochoir/videos/933708503416807/

    Enjoy!

  5. Thanks Trish. I’m pleased to report that thanks to the wonderful acoustics in St. George’s Brandon Hill we sounded much better. The acoustics in our regular rehearsal hall are dreadful plus one of the sopranos recorded on her mobile phone sò not good. At least you all had an idea!

  6. what a wonderful day. It sounds lovely and ideal. Lots of love and laughter, too I bet. Thanks for the links!! Jillian

  7. Thank you. I’m sure you will be having fun days soon once you feel better.

  8. Valerie J. Patterson

    Wow, Jane! Your day with your niece and great-niece sounds purely delightful! What a great celebration and to have so many strangers involved is even better. Nice photos, too. 😛

  9. It was wonderful, they are both such fun. Very special women. I am lucky to have a great family. They took the photos!

Leave a Reply

