Welcome, Baby Hazel

I missed my blog on the 8th, so I’ll talk here about what I meant to then. It’s been a worrisome time these past few months and now I can finally explain why.

First, I need to explain something. A few years ago, my sister was diagnosed with Factor V Leiden. This is a hereditary disorder that results in something called thrombophilia, or an increased tendency to form abnormal blood clots. Not good. Anyhow, for her, since she doesn’t have any mitigating factors, they’ll just keep an eye on it and it will be something they’ll have to take precautions with when having surgery.

I recently got tested and thankfully, was negative for this disorder. Three of my nieces were not so lucky. In fact, a couple of them have already had to deal with clots in the legs. Neither of them are even 35 years old yet, by the way.

So, now to talk about the 32 year old niece, who happily got pregnant with her second child. The pregnancy went great until the 7th month, when my niece had a major heart attack. Yep, that tendency to clot…did. It was a very scary time. The final two months of her pregnancy were micro-managed, as was her delivery. She had to give herself heparin shots twice a day and was on meds to manage the clotting factor. She had to be careful. Live life normally, but not over-exert.

And finally, on March 22nd, at a specialty hospital and with a whole lot of personnel in the room, my niece gave birth to our newest family member – Hazel Elyse. They induced and managed the delivery with minimal stress to my niece or to her daughter. And four days later, they were home and introducing Hazel to her four-year-old brother.

So all’s well that ends well, but we were saying a LOT of prayers for those two months. If you’d like to read more about Factor V Leiden, you can do so here. And to finish out on a positive note, here’s some pictures of baby Hazel, including a proud Great-Gramma (my Mom) and one with my brother, a proud, proud Grampa, and rightfully so. 🙂

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

12 responses to “Welcome, Baby Hazel

  1. What a scary time for you and your family.so glad all is well!,

  2. I love the pictures. So precious. You have an amazing family Laurie.

  3. Welcome to the world, baby Hazel! What a precious girl. Congrats to you all. So very pleased everything went well, Laurie. Really lovely photos 🙂

  4. Welcome baby Hazel and well done Mum. Congratulations to your wonderful family after a difficult time. Gorgeoùs photos.

    • Thanks, Jane! It was pretty scary for a couple months there. Mom still has to be faithful with her meds and be mindful, but she’s been able to resume her normal life, thank goodness.

  5. The Factor V Leiden is a very similar condition to the one I have, mine’s APC deficiency but causes the same problems, heredity and rife in my family, so well appreciate the problems and worry it causes. So pleased all is well with the little and your niece. Worrying times but the end result was certainly worth it: an absolutely gorgeous baby.

    • Ah, then you know, Kit. My other niece, who had to have a hysterectomy in her 20’s, is at high risk due to the hormones she takes, so they just put her on Coumadin therapy. Makes this all still a worry, but at least for now, things are calm. 🙂

  6. God answers prayers. So very glad to hear that the baby arrived safely and mother is doing well. I bet that heart attack was a massive scare. So happy all is well and will keep them in my prayers. Jillian

  7. Valerie J. Patterson

    Hazel is absolutely gorgeous! God is so very good to hear and to answer prayer! Little miracle is what they have in Hazel. I do hope your niece is recovering/has recovered and is enjoying her little blessing!!

Leave a Reply

