I <3 Caribbean Cruises!

Running late today, which is unusual for me. And it generally means my calendar is way too full. My morning started with a couple fillings at the dentist, something I angst over big time, even though I have no reason to. I guess anxiety doesn’t care about logic, eh?

But that’s not what I wanted to talk about today. I thought I’d share some pictures of our recent cruise to the Bahamas. We had good, but not great weather. The temperature was in the 65-75 degree Fahrenheit range. Not really warm by Caribbean standards but warm for us Pacific Northwesters. And it was windy enough that we couldn’t snorkel and one of our ports of call had to be cancelled because they couldn’t tender us in to shore from the ship. But the wind also kept those pesky mosquitoes at bay. So a good thing, in our estimation.

It still managed to be one of the most relaxing vacations I’ve ever had. We watched 4 hit movies, including The Martian which I LOVED. I read four books! I haven’t had much time to read recreationally lately so that was awesome. I swam in the on board pool and laid out in the sun. And we even managed to go ashore in a couple places. So lots of relaxing made for an awesome trip.

Of course, being back home meant diving back into a too-busy routine, but the R&R time reset my brain and heart so it’s all easier to handle for the moment. 

Here’s some pics from our week away. I hope you all get some time to relax and rejuvenate soon, if you haven’t already!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

19 responses to “I <3 Caribbean Cruises!

  1. Ohhhhh! Those sunsets/sunrises are beautiful. You two look good, relaxed and happy. Thanks for sharing this special time with wonderful pictures. They tell more than words can how great this trip was.

  2. Glad you had a great time . Loved the pictures !! Thanks for sharing. Hopefully you gave thecreatvofvus Nirthwesterners a quick thought while you were dry and warm😜😜

  3. Absolutely fabulous. Am jealous. One day I’ll do a cruise but it would have to be state room outside cabin with balcony as cannot bear being shut in anywhere. I live in home. So pleased you enjoyed it despite the wind. 🙂

    • I am with you, Kit. The first time we got a balcony room, my husband knew he was in trouble…that I’d never go back to a window. We’ve never gotten an interior room because they make me feel claustrophopic.

  4. Sounds idyllic, plus enforced rest in great surroundings did you good. Hang on to that feeling.

  5. So pleased you enjoyed your cruise, Laurie. It sounds sooooo relaxing. Gorgeous photos. And not having to worry about pesky mosquitos was indeed a huge bonus. Those sunsets must have been gorgeous. Hope your relaxed feeling stays around for a good while.

  6. Valerie J. Patterson

    Wow! Great photos. You definitely look as though you and the hubbers were having a great time and I’m glad you relaxed and came back refreshed. I love those types of vacations. We need to slow down more often. Life is not a race…because look at the “Finish Line”.

  7. Love it! AND it looks like you did as well. Glad it was nice- those breezes can be killer though – LOL Jillian

Leave a Reply

