Happy Valentine’s Day

Valentine’s Day is this weekend and I hope everyone enjoys it.

A couple of fun facts about Valentine’s Day:

  • In Victorian times it was considered bad luck to sign a Valentine’s Day card.
  • Based on retail statistics, about 3 per cent of pet owners will give Valentine’s Day gifts to their pets.
  • Richard Cadbury produced the first box of chocolates for Valentine’s Day in the late 1800s.
  • The red rose was the favorite flower of Venus, the Roman goddess of love
  • 220,000 is the average number of wedding proposals on Valentine’s Day each year.

I was fortunate this year with my writing to be able to have a book around Valentine’s Day.  Melt My Heart is part of the Candy Hearts Romance series from The Wild Rose Press.  I had to use an actual candy hearts saying for the book.

Heart Of Hearts

Candy Heart Sayings

As for Miss Penny, she’s her usually crazy puppy.  Since we had some sun this last week she was very happy to be able to be outside, but she wasn’t happy when mommy gave her a bath.

20160129_102905

Have a great Valentine’s Day.

7 responses to “Happy Valentine’s Day

  1. Hi, Marie! Congrats on the new release. And I only knew one of the facts you mentioned, and I’ve seen a lot of Valentine’s Days. Lol. I hope you have a lovely one. And Miss Penny? You’re looking as cute as ever and I had a puppy who didn’t like baths, too. She was my puppy right up until that water started running in the slop sink. Then, she’d run to my husband and cower, shaking, beside him. And I was always very gentle with her. I never did understand that. 🙂

  2. Yep, my puppies didn’t like a bath either. One knew the word so you didn’t dare say it or you had find her as she would hide. Interesting facts. I love posts like this one as I always learn something.

    Is Miss Penny getting a Valentine gift?

  3. love the little facts! Thanks for sharing. Hugs to Penny! Jillian

  4. Fun facts, although I’m ashamed to say Vivvy didn’t get a Valentine pressie. Must rectify that next time 🙂 She hates baths too, although she’ll play around in the water forever. Weird. Good luck with the new release.

  5. Do you know, I have never ever received a Valentine’s card, signed or unsighed. I must be very unloved…. Seriously, though, Dave and I do not need a special day to celebrate our love. But I do live in hope that one day… Love the sweets. We call them Lovehearts in the UK. Haven’t had one for years. 🙂

Leave a Reply

