Happy February

Jillian here. Can you believe it’s February already? Wow. Time does fly, doesn’t it? This month I’m excited to head to New Orleans with a friend to see the traveling Broadway production of Kinky Boots. This is a musical based on the true story of a shoe factory in the UK that was experiencing financial woes and the son who inherited it and brought it back to life with the help of a transvestite. If you haven’t seen the movie, you are missing out. It’s a wonderful little film. Check out the IMDB site here.

Kinky Boots, the musical, has songs by the amazing Cyndi Lauper. What could be more fun? I’ll report back next time. Here’s the link to the Broadway show. Wish I could’ve gotten to NYC to see it but this is the next best thing and within driving distance.

Oh, and I’ll probably have a beignet while I’m there. 🙂

 

13 responses to “Happy February

  1. You are so lucky to be within driving distance to New Orleans. I’ve never been there but it’s on my list of must visit places.

  2. Just HAD to throw in the beignet, didn’t you. 🙂 I hear Kinky Boots, the play, is AWESOME. Have fun!!!!!

  3. Valerie J. Patterson

    Enjoy yourself, Jillian! Have a King Cake while you’re there, too!

    • Thanks Valerie! And Mardi Gras will be over on Tuesday and I’m going the next week so the king cake will be gone. BUT I am having some this weekend as we on the Gulf Coast celebrate Mardi Gras, too. It actually originated in Mobile, Alabama.

  4. Have a fantastic time, no problem! I’ve seen the film and loved it so look forward to the next blog about your visit.

  5. PS what’s a beignet? Am I missing out?!

  6. Kinky boots was a fabulous film and the musical currently on in London. Shame it’s too far for me to get to so have to wait until it tours the provinces but certainly one to catch. Do hope you enjoy the show and have fun! 🙂

  7. Sorry to say I haven’t seen the movie, but I’m going to check out the musical if it’s now on in London. Might be an excuse for a trip 🙂 Enjoy New Orleans!

Leave a Reply

