To Tree Or Not To Tree, That is the Question by Valerie J. Patterson

To tree or not to tree.  That is the question.  Not quite Shakespearean, but close enough.

The holidays are a lot of work.  You’ve got the baking, the shopping, the wrapping, and the decorating.  And that’s just the preparation.  All of these things tie together to make the holidays festive, memorable, and delicious, but when it’s all over, have you ever wanted to just leave the decorations up a little longer than past New Years?  What’s acceptable?  When is it too long?

The norm in our neighborhood seems to be outside decorations need to come down–or at the very least no longer lit up–after New Years’ Day.  I was a rebel this year and not only left them up but also left them lit up until January 9th.  The weather that Saturday was a pure gift, and I spent the morning out in the front yard while the bubbly hubby was at work.  Removing all the decorations and lights was a bit of a bummer, reminding me how quickly the holidays pass.  When I finished and went inside, I stared at the tree standing proud in the center of my picture window, and I didn’t have the heart to tackle that as well.

One more week, is what I thought that evening as I turned down the lights and sat on the sofa with the bubbly hubby and watched the lights.  Just one more week, then I’ll take it down.

And then I talked with my sister-in-law, Tracy who told me she didn’t want to take down her tree, either.  Instead, she removed the Christmas decorations, replacing them with Valentine’s Day decorations.  She shared a photo and I was convinced.  This past Monday, Steve and I went and bought some Valentine’s Day decorations and this Saturday, I will change my Christmas tree into a Valentine’s tree.

And then–if I am still reluctant to take it down and put it in the closet–I will make it a St. Patrick’s Day tree!

So what about you?  To tree or not to tree?  What’s your choice?

Until next time, may the simplicity and beauty of tree lights bring color to your life!

12 responses to “To Tree Or Not To Tree, That is the Question by Valerie J. Patterson

  1. Sounds like a great idea but I like everything down and put away before the New Years.

    • Valerie J. Patterson

      Yeah, everyone has their own time frame. Mine varies every year, I guess depending on how stressed I am at the end of it! lol

      Thanks for reading and commenting, Missie! 😛

  2. What a cool idea, decorating the tree for EACH holiday. Ummm, I’m hoping it’s an artificial tree? Lol. For the first time ever, we did not put up a tree this year. Too busy with hospital trips and Mom. We got all our other decorations up, thank goodness. But I missed that tree. So next year, maybe I’ll help you start this new tradition of a multi-holiday tree. I like it!

    • Valerie J. Patterson

      Thanks, Laurie! I’m enjoying my new Valentine’s day tree. I’m thinking about what it will look like for St. Patrick’s day and Easter, too. Whether or not it will actually see those holidays remains to be seen…

      I completely understand about not getting the tree up. I hope your mom is feeling much better and has regained her health.

  3. A great idea but I’m on the flip side of wanting the tree and decorations down and put away before New Years. In years past when we had ‘real’ tree’s we wouldn’t put them up until late in the month so as long as they were safe we’d leave them up through the week between Christmas and New Years. Now I put the tree up right after Thanksgiving so I’m ready for it to come down earlier. Still a Valentine and St. Patrick tree. ummmm

    • Valerie J. Patterson

      As you saw on facebook, Lavada, I am enjoying my Valentine’s Day tree. I have turned down the lights and sat and watched it like I do with my Christmas tree. It’s very cold here–too cold for snow–so it’s pretty stark outside. Inside has some cheer! 😛

  4. i love that idea- I even suggested my sister in law do that as she loves to leave hers up. We leave ours usually until New Year’s Day but this year, we left it an additional week as well. We get a real one and for some reason, I just couldn’t bear to let go of the one I chose this time around. It was large and so pretty. But, alas, it was dying quickly and shedding like crazy so I had to let it go after all. Jillian

    • Valerie J. Patterson

      Sorry you had to part with a tree you enjoyed so much!

      You know what I have always wanted to try, Jillian? One of those live trees with the root ball still attached so that you replant it in the spring! I’ve also looked at the small trees that come in a planter and are intended to remain inside. Just have never found one I absolutely wanted to have, I guess. I’ve looked at them, just have never bought one. Will have to add that to my “Must Do” holiday list! 😛

  5. Oh, I love that idea, Valerie! I hate it when the tree comes down. We’ve always had a fake tree because we were always away for Christmas, but now that we tend to spend it at home, I’m thinking that next year we’ll have a real one. I know that I won’t ever want to take that one down.

    • Valerie J. Patterson

      Then you need to make sure you get a real tree next year, Tricia! Currently, I am enjoying my Valentine’s Day tree. I can still turn down the lights and sit and watch it. Thank you for reading and commenting, Tricia!

  6. What a lovely Idea, Valerie. In our house the Christmas decs are normally taken down on New Year’s Day but this year the stayed up longer as we had mother staying on for a week. Don’t think I could get away with a Valentine’s tree here, Dave would object.

    • Valerie J. Patterson

      Hope you had a great visit with your mom over the holidays. Bummer that Dave would object. I have found that I rather like having that tree in the living room. It’s cheerful! Some days during the winter months are just gray and blah. It’s nice to have something light and cheery! Hope you are well! Thanks, Kit!

Leave a Reply

