Six-Word Memoirs

A few years ago, a friend gave me the coolest book called Six-Word Memoirs. originalsix

It’s a compilation of life stories filtered down to only six words and it’s amazing. It’s based on a website that SMITH magazine launched in November 2006 and now has over 800,000 memoirs listed.

The intro to this book has the best six-word memoir I’ve ever heard, indicating a legend that Ernest Hemingway accepted a challenge to write a story in six words. He came up with:

“For sale: baby shoes, never worn.”

Oh. My. Gosh. That is powerful and sad and it really is an entire story in a few words, isn’t it?

I have given it a lot of thought over the years since I read this compilation. It took a few iterations, but I finally came up with my memoir:

“Human, but surrounded by the best.”

That’s what I would say about my life. What would you say?

7 responses to “Six-Word Memoirs

  1. Great, says it all!

  2. Okay, I’m going to have to think about this one for a while. What a great book. It’s better than the thought for the day.

  3. You said it best Laura!!

  4. Love your memoir, Laurie, and what an interesting book. I’d need to give mine some serious thought.

  5. Love it. Sounds like a great book! Jillian

  6. Now, that really is testing the brain cells for coming up with my memoir. Yours definitely says it all. 🙂

  7. Valerie J. Patterson

    Your post reminds me is a writing exercise my creative writing professor used. He’d hand out classified ads and we had to the write the story behind the ad. Great fun, and I haven’t viewed classified ads the same way ever since.

Leave a Reply

