Thankful by Valerie J. Patterson

It’s that time of year when people everywhere seem to take more than a glance at their lives and count their blessings.  While I think that is important every day of our lives, I, too, find that I reflect more at this time of year.

Of course, I am thankful for the big things: my husband, my family, my job, a roof over my head, food on the table, and money in the bank.  But I am also thankful for the trees in our backyard and the beauty they add to my day.  I’m thankful that I have a garage to park my car in, and that it is always either warm or cool depending on the season.  I’m thankful for lunches with friends, warm hugs on Sundays after services, kind words from strangers, and the cool gel pillow top of our bed–I love a cold bed as opposed to a warm one!

I give thanks for slippers, robes, cold glasses of milk and homemade cookies.  Brilliant sunshine streaming into the living room, full moons in the evening sky, and salty, buttered popcorn.

I am incredibly thankful for each and every morning my feet hit the floor!

I’m sure my list could go on…and I hope while you read you are compiling a list of your own list.  It’s important that we give thanks for large and small blessings, not just now, but always.  We have so many good things in our lives, don’t we?

***********************************************************

The following is my very favorite fruit dip.  I promised to share it this summer, but only just remembered I had not done that.  It is very simple and so very good!  Enjoy!

8 ounces of Cool Whip

one 7 ounce jar of Marshmallow Creme

one 3 ounce package of Philadelphia Cream Cheese

Blend all ingredients in a bowl until smooth and silky.  Chill an hour and serve with fresh fruit of your choice.

This dip is incredibly easy, and so very delicious!  The perfect light appetizer, evening snack, or treat for work.

***********************************************************

I have been absent from Over the Backyard Fence for a little while, and I apologize for not being here to read and comment the past month.  I hope to return in a more regular way very soon.

Until next time, may your turkey be moist, your pies spicy, and your family gathered around you!  Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours!

11 responses to “Thankful by Valerie J. Patterson

  1. Thank you for the reminder of all that is good. Like you I give daily thanks, usually the last thing I do before rolling over to sleep for the night. Mornings aren’t my time of day so mostly I’m thankful for that first cup of coffee.

  2. Love your list! and yep, robes and slippers are high on mine as well. Jillian

  3. Timely reminder to us all to give thanks for the good we have, particularly in light of recent happenings in Europe. I bless each day I wake up, give thanks to the sun when it shines and give thanks for my wonderful husband: my rock and my best friend. And like Lavada, I am certainly thankful for that first morning coffee or two, especially when I can enjoy it in garden. Roll on spring. 🙂

    • Valerie J. Patterson

      It is a sad, sad world in which we live these days, Kit. Though I had no hand in the horrors that took place in France, I am deeply sorry for the tragic loss of life for no other reason than what amounts to hatred. We all had much more to be thankful for this Thanksgiving.

  4. I, too, think your list is AWESOME. Especially the gel pillowtop mattress. I have a pillow like that. Since only half the sleepers in our bed (me) want it cool at night, I don’t think I’d get away with an entire mattress, but how cool is that!
    Off to start my own Thankful List! Have a happy thanksgiving!

    • Valerie J. Patterson

      I highly recommend the cool gel pillowtop mattress, Laurie! There’s nothing better than crawling into a cool bed. 😛 I also have a cool gel pillow, and it’s my best friend when I go to bed with a headache! Hope you and yours had a blessed Thanksgiving!

  5. It’s certainly a timely reminder to be thankful, Valerie. I make a mental gratitude list each night before I go to sleep for my wonderful husband, my darling Vivvy, my friends, family and the lovely things that might have happened that day. The simple things are often the loveliest, like the rose that’s unexpectedly blooming in my garden, Happy Thanksgiving to my Stateside friends!

    • Valerie J. Patterson

      I love your list, too, Tricia. I try to always see the blessings in my day. Some days, it’s easier than others, but I also try to remind myself that I could be walking in another’s shoes and through their storms instead of my own. Sobering thought! Hope you had a lovely Thanksgiving day.

Leave a Reply

