Spring Cleaning…in the Fall?

Lately, I’ve been into cleaning cupboards. Maybe it’s the change in the weather, but I’m Spring cleaning in Autumn. And since we’ve lived here for 26 years and I’ve gone through these cupboards and closets before, it always amazes me that I find more STUFF to get rid of. Especially since we’ve been working harder to not buy a bunch of stuff that we just won’t use. We’ve all done this, right? Bought something just knowing we’d use it, only to have it molder away in a cupboard or closet? Please tell me I’m not the only one. Lol.

Anyhow, I started with the kitchen. And apparently there were a couple cupboards there I ignored for a year or two…or ten. Like the spice and baking cabinets. I found powdered milk that had turned orange. Cornmeal that had turned rancid and white. A vanilla pudding box that didn’t even have a use by date on it, it was so old.

I’m a pretty clean person, so I was astonished at the amount of ancient stuff I found. Thankfully, going through the rest of the kitchen was less eventful, with nothing that pre-dated me. 🙂

Next was our clothes closet. That’s not too bad, since I go through it twice a year to move the summer or winter clothes to the front or back. But tucked in the back are several formal outfits from various events (cruises, weddings, etc.). We’ve become such an informal society here in the Pacific Nortwest (is it that way everywhere?) that I’m not sure I’ll ever wear any of them again. But I keep them anyhow, because each time I open the clothing bags to see what’s in them, I remember. My daughter’s wedding…that cruise dinner where we stayed past our welcome because we were having such fun with our tablemates…the Christmas or New Year’s dances spent with my husband. Honestly, I don’t care if I ever get rid of them. Sometimes, the memories of worth that little bit of space they take up.

How about you? Are you hunkering down for winter or cleaning out closets? Is it fun to open a door and glimpse the memories? Or do you have orange powdered milk in your kitchen cupboard?

As I close and head out to clean yet another closet or drawer, I’d like to wish every person out there who’s protected our way of life a very Happy Veteran’s Day on Wednesday. Thank you for serving.

8 responses to “Spring Cleaning…in the Fall?

  1. Must be the weather because I’ve been doing the same thing. Got all the cupboards done and dresser drawers. Now to start on the closets . I’m not even sure where some of this stuff came from but I have a garbage can full and bags for a charity. Nice to have it done and Jim is a kitchen gadget guy some of the stuff is never used. Have a nice fall and enjoy the rain here in our beautiful Pacific Northwest.

  2. One nice thing about moving is you get rid of some stuff. But it’s been 3 years going on 4 and even though I started out well with the packing, toward the end I was just putting it in boxes so brought over more than I intended. Its time to go through again.

    Still it won’t be as bad and I’ve resolved to keep ‘stuff’ to a minimum as it makes daily cleaning soooo much easier.

  3. The good thing about clearing out stuff is you feel very virtuous and cleansed afterwards. My kitchen cupboards are due soon, and had planned to do it this month along with my units in the dining room but another factor has gotten in the way so they will have to wait. A couple of years ago my husband bought me a steam cleaner which, once the whole house was steamed cleaned, it hasn’t been out of its box since. I keep telling him that it did such a good job, things don’t need a deep clean now. I bring it out of the cupboard every now and again and leave it in the hallway just so he thinks I do use it. I shall have to confess to him soon. 😉

  4. Love to spring clean, which is weird because I’m not exactly a fan of housework. But de-cluttering is fun and I’m getting better and better at it. Next up for a major spring clean is the bathroom, inspired by a friend who is coming to stay at the end of the month.

    We moved around quite a lot during the first twenty years of our marriage, so I was always sorting and packing, which meant nothing much got stored for long. But eighteen years in the same house now, so our attic probably could do with a clear out.

  5. I could do with a clear out of my kitchen cabinets. The spouse has a fit every time he unloads the dishwasher and he even had a big ole fit last night when the spices in the spice cabinet hit him on the head while he was looking for something. Jillian

Leave a Reply

