Book Recommendations-

Jillian here!  I was going to do a book review today and I know we all have massive TBR piles so I decided just to throw a few titles of books I’ve read lately and either really enjoyed or didn’t like so much.

For the not so much crowd, I offer I, Ripper.  It’s by Stephen Hunter. It’s another Jack the Ripper lore story and although I am intrigued by the legend, this one was a new take on it that was both interesting and dull at the same time. Kind of weird, I know. It didn’t move fast and thus it took me a while to read it. A chapter here, a chapter there. It wasn’t compelling but it wasn’t bad – so I give it a Meh rating.

The Other Daughter, by Lauren Willig was poignant and I cried a lot about the last third of the book.  That always means a good read to me- UNLESS I’m crying because it’s so awful and I want it over.  Not the case here. It’s set in the 1920s in the UK and just a nice tale.

Royal Street and River Road are by Suzanne Johnson. They are the first two books in her Sentinel series and even though they are marketed as Urban Fantasy, something I never, ever thought I would like, I love, love these books and have ordered the next two in the series. They are set in New Orleans and the author, having lived there many years, has absolutely captured the city in her descriptions. The first one takes place at the time of Hurricane Katrina and the author nails the way the city was hit and how it was for many months post storm.

So, if you have room on your TBR list, here’s a few choices. If anyone wants me to send you any of these, let me know. I try to donate when I’m done so I can have room for more!

10 responses to “Book Recommendations-

  1. Oooh, looks like my TBR pile is growing. I’ll be adding Suzanne Johnson to my list. Thanks for the recs!

  2. I love to find new authors. And, you’re right about To Be Read piles. Mine is huge and even reading fast it grows faster than I can manage. Umm may need to add The Other Daughter, by Lauren Willig. I love that era.

  3. Thanks for the recommendations. The Other Daughter sounds good but may well add it to my TBR holiday pile although the mountain’s growing taller by the day.

  4. Valerie J. Patterson

    I do not understand the Jack the Ripper trend in books. A few years ago I read the one Patricia Cornwell wrote wherein she “proves” Jack was an artist instead of a surgeon or a doctor. I got about 3/4 of the way and put it down, never to pick it back up again. I don’t understand the fascination. His crimes were horrid. In my opinion, enough already.

  5. Thanks for the recommendations, Jillian. Love discovering new books and new-to-me authors!

Leave a Reply

