Rockin’ and Rollin’

I know we don’t usually chat about our writing over here but that’s what I’ve been spending time on lately. And I mean like a maniac.  I started writing a Regency story that’s probably really late Georgian not too long ago and it’s one of those stories that is practically writing itself. The ideas are coming faster than I can type so I’ve been crazy getting it down.  I love it when this kind of thing happens but it’s also tough because I become so focused on the story that I get obsessive. Lol. But at least it keeps me off the streets, right?

I stumbled upon a little known fact (unknown to me, that is- lol) about the Grimaldi family when researching a plot point for my story and while it wasn’t what I was looking for initially, it’s going to make my story even better than the idea I had and I love the serendipity of that.  Did you know that one of the wives of a Grimaldi prince (House of Monaco) was one of the last people executed in the Reign of Terror? And yes, I am working that into my story. Peripherally.

Hoping August treats you all well.  It’s 104 Fahrenheit here in the shade so I’m working on keeping cool!

12 responses to “Rockin’ and Rollin’

  1. Oooh, I love it when a story grabs you like that. 🙂 Run with it for as long as it lets you and be obsessive. Nothing wrong with that and it makes for a great story. 🙂 Survive the heat. We’ve finally cooled here, but I don’t know for how long. It’s a much hotter summer than normal in this neck of the woods.

  2. We’ve also had an exceptionally hot summer. I hope it gets better for you, but it usually goes from hot to cold quickly here…not sure which is worse on me.
    Your obsession pays-off, I am certain of that and no, I didn’t know about the Grimaldi/Reign of Terror connection. (I do know that Grace was not the first wife to infuse the Monacan coffers, though.)

  3. Having a story come together like this is cause to celebrate. I love finding tidbits of history and am appreciative of the online tomes of information out there. Enjoy and keep cool.

    • Thanks Lavada. I also love the ‘net for finding those little gold mines of info! I’m def. enjoying this story and hoping some future readers will as well.

  4. It’s a blessing when a story runs like the wind for you, so grab each moment, forget the housework, and run with it. Interesting fact about the Grimaldis – I didn’t know that either. Hope you’re cooling down, if not, come to the UK – it’s almost chilly enough for the heating to go on today. I know, we can swop places – I love the heat 😉

    Good luck with the story, looking forward to reading the end result. 🙂

    • Thanks Kit. I may take you up on the trading places thing. I’m ready for some cool but august and September are the hottest for us. And this year, it’s been august hot since June. Boo. And yes, the story is running away with me. So much fun and I’m totally ignoring the house – well, kind of. Lol. I washed and dried the towels but hubs had to fold and put away. Lol.

      And I was very intrigued about that Grimaldi fact. Stumbled on it looking at the family tree.

      >

  5. Valerie J. Patterson

    Man! I love when a story grabs hold and becomes bigger than you first imagined it would be. When that happens to me, it invades my sleep, too and I have to keep a flashlight and a notebook by my bed or else I’ll forget what I dreamed about! I actually have a book that wrote itself in my dreams! I was seriously sleep deprived from waking and writing, but it was worth it! 😛

    • Me, too Valerie. It’s always cool when it happens. AND I totally relate to the flashlight and dreams. I’ve had that too. Not often but it’s happened. 🙂

  6. That’s excellent, Jillian! Love it when a story gathers its own momentum. We visit Monaco when we travel to the south of France, and their history is indeed fascinating. Didn’t know that about the princess though. Thanks for sharing. Can’t wait to read your finished book. Keep us posted on release dates, etc.

    • Me, too Tricia. AND I’d love to see Monaco in person. It looks intriguing – I’d feel like an underdressed tourist though. LOL I will let you know if it ever releases. LOL

Leave a Reply

