TaDa!!! The New Bathroom has Arrived!

As I write this blog, we are just adding the finishing touches to a four month bathroom remodel. I’d have never believed it would take that long, but a lot of the delays were waiting on materials. I hated having only a small shower for that length of time. However, I’m happy to say that we are now in the home stretch. And that we had little or no major issues crop up.

It started with a simple comment by my husband about how nice it would be to have a larger tub. Ours was tiny and uncomfortable and 26 years was long enough. But, since a larger tub wouldn’t fit where ours was, that meant moving it. Which meant moving the toilet. Which meant completely redoing the plumbing. You get where this is going, right? By the time we were done with demolition, we’d taken the room down to the studs. And decided to redo a dining room wall that had paneling on it, which explains the picture taken from the kitchen looking into the bathroom.

It was tough on my husband to hire someone to do the bulk of the work. He’s used to doing it all himself. But it was time to let someone else do the hard stuff. That doesn’t mean hubby wasn’t in the thick of things throughout the process. He was and I’m grateful for all his time spent making sure things were done right and well. Of course, Dude and I were a little involved too.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It’s been a long haul with lots of, umm, discussions about things like cost. I may (or may not) have wanted some higher end stuff, like a colored cast-iron sink, but I also did my best to search out the absolute lowest prices. That was my job in this project. Well, that and clean-up.

So demolition. Then the plumbing. Then all new sheetrock, and a larger tub went in. We had the tub/shower area tiled, adding a mosaic accent. Texturing was next, then I wanted 3 paint colors on the walls and ceiling…another expense. Sigh. Mark re-purposed our old vanity cabinet since it was solid old wood. We painted it from dirty white to chocolate brown and found a quartz remnant for a countertop. I felt something was needed to make the sink I loved really pop. My poor husband almost had a stroke when I mentioned quartz, but it’s a small area, so the cost wasn’t too bad at all. At least, that’s my story and I’m sticking to it. My husband’s mantra, through this whole process was “You need to sell more books, Laurie.” (Working on that, dear.) After the cabinet, lighting, and mirror went in, it was time for the toilet and flooring. Sadly, expensive flooring. We looked and looked and one day, saw this one sample and both went “That’s it!” at the same time. It wasn’t cheap. But again, it was a small area, thank goodness!

So here you go, finally, the before and after pictures:

And now we have an awesome bathroom that we and our visiting friends and family can enjoy. I’m so glad we did it, but it took time and patience and a few arguments to get through it all. Oh, and at the beginning of this process, both my husband and I estimated what we thought the cost would be. Sadly, I was spot on, and it was about twice what he estimated. He’s grumbled a bit, and I explained he’s got a right, right up until the bathroom is done. Then he has to stop that so we can simply enjoy it.

Which we are…a lot. And honestly? We’re both glad we did it. And we’re still happily married. But it’ll be a while before we do another project. We’re due for a break!

14 responses to “TaDa!!! The New Bathroom has Arrived!

  1. Ahhh, I can so relate. Through the years we have remodeled numerous rooms. Some projects small, most big, but to me it’s the price of home ownership to protect our investment. That point always sold Jack. 🙂 I watch HDTV, I know I’ve mentioned that before, anyway you see these older homes that look much like they did back when, then you see the remodel and wow.

    Your bathroom is fantastic. I love the colors and the room looks so much bigger. So enjoy, enjoy, enjoy.

  2. Thanks, Lavada. This bathroom was HGTV inspired. And my husband still lets me watch that channel! You have done some awesome remodels, I know. It’s almost like moving, without packing and unpacking. You end up with something fresh and new.

  3. Very nice Laurie. I always love the finished project but hate the mess. Thank you for sharing

  4. Excellent, Laurie! Your new bathroom looks great. I love remodelling, although like you I’m not a fan of the interim, LOL. Had to laugh at Mark’s comment that you need to write more books to pay for your projects, that’s the sort of thing AJ says. When we visited what was Agatha Christie’s house in the Devon, I was reading her diary and one entry said: ‘Need a new conservatory. Must write another book.’ If only it were that easy 🙂

  5. Looks great, Laurie. I laughed aloud at the pic of you in the tub. So funny. LOL. Thanks for sharing the whole journey with us. It looks a bit daunting. It turned out great. Jillian

  6. Valerie J. Patterson

    Very nicely done! I really like what you did with the vanity. I noticed you really dramatically cut down the size of the window probably due to the fact that the tub was right beneath it. A friend of mine is in the middle of a bathroom remodel as well and they eliminated all windows and put in “Pipe Lighting”. I had never heard of it. But, boy, the amount of natural light those pipes let in is amazing!

    Enjoy your new bathroom! 😛

    • We added a “solar-tube” which is what I believe your pipe lighting is? It’s a round skylight, basically. A tube that reflects the sun. I can use that bathroom until early dusk without ever turning on a light, so I LOVE it!

      • Valerie J. Patterson

        I believe they are very similar, if not the same thing. She loves them! They have two. One at each end of her bathroom and she says the natural sunlight pours out into their hallway, too. I think it’s pretty nifty!

  7. Your bathroom looks fantastic. Having gone through a bathroom refit not so long ago I can totally empathise with the time, mess, muddle and work and expense but well worth it in the end. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

