Beaches, Omelets in a Bag, and the Spruce Goose

Hubby and I recently got the opportunity to spend a weekend on the Oregon coast with one of my daughters and her family. It was great, because enough distance separates us that we haven’t gotten much chance to get to know her fiance’s two children and haven’t gotten oodles of play time with our five-year-old granddaughter. We also got a rare chance to meet our daughter’s future in-laws and found them to be interesting, down-home folks (like us!). 🙂 It was a long drive for us, close to seven hours each way, which is tough on my husband’s bad back. Next year, we’ll have to try to find a place that’s less of a drive for us. But for this year, we made it work.

We had an awesome time. The beach was basically right outside the home’s back door, so lots of beach walking. Town had little shops to visit, and we played games, both card and board. And visited. And ate.20150516_160359

Since we’ve done cabin weekends before, we got to introduce the other set of grandparents to one of our favorite breakfasts…omelets in a bag. Have you ever done that? It’s great for feeding everyone omelets at the same time. Boil a big pan of water, then prep and set out all the ingredients you want for omelets. Eggs, mixed together. Then ham, onions, spinach, peppers, cheese, whatever else you might want.

Each person takes a quart-sized freezer bag and writes their name on it in permanent marker. Add ½ cup of egg to the bag, then whatever ingredients they want to the bag and de-air and tightly close the Ziploc. Two things to note here: First, only ½ cup of egg. More and it doesn’t work well. Second, if you add no ingredients, just the eggs, the eggs will turn green for some reason. I don’t know why. So we always make certain there’s something else in with the egg.

Anyhow, all the omelet bags get tossed into the boiling water for 20 minutes and voila! You’ve got individual omelets for a group. It’s that easy, and they taste great!

I learned something while on this trip. As much as I’m a water person, I wouldn’t want to own a place by the sea. Being right there on the sand dunes, the sand got EVERYWHERE. It was insane, and not something I’d want to deal with regularly.P1110145

En route home, we decided to break up the drive with a stop at the Evergreen Air and Space Museum in McMinnville, Oregon. Do you remember the Spruce Goose, the largest ever amphibious plane built by Howard Hughes? It is the main showpiece in this museum and we got to tour it and sit in the cockpit. That was a blast.DSC_0034A

But after a couple hours touring, it was time to get back on the road for the rest of the long haul home. We arrived to a cat who was so happy he wasn’t alone any longer, he wouldn’t leave us alone. Of course, that did eventually settle into a righteous indignation in Dude, since he tried to hide and stay outside all night.

He got over it. And we survived the long drive with a nice set of memories to tide us over until this bathroom remodel is done. By the way, it’s moving forward and getting closer. I’m guessing another 2-3 weeks and we’ll be pretty much done. Yay! Pictures will be forthcoming after that!

I hope you all get to have a wonderful, sunny week!
Laurie

15 responses to “Beaches, Omelets in a Bag, and the Spruce Goose

  1. Eggs turn green? Makes one wonder why? I love taking shorter trips like this. Besides it makes packing and unpacking a breeze.

    I’ve always thought the same thing about owning a place on the ocean. So hard with the up keep. However that place in Cancun was easy. Lots of lawn and a condo. Oh housekeeping no doubt helped. 🙂

  2. Lori sounds like a fun beach trip.. I am trying the omlets tomorrow sounds great. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Maybe you have found the secret to “green eggs and ham” Sam I am. LOL. That really sounds like a very cool way to make omelets. I want to know who thought it up- very clever!! Sounds like you had a great time with the family. That’s always nice. AND the Spruce Goose, to boot. I think that’s awesome. Jillian

    • I do not like green eggs and ham. I do not like them, Sam I am! 🙂 It was a very, very nice weekend. But I’m not sure where the omelets in a bag idea came from. Our then D-I-L suggested it for a family campout and it’s been part of our gatherings every since.

  4. Wow! What a great way to make omelets for all. Will have to remember that one. I usually make one huge Spanish omelet for all and trust they all like what’s in it! Would love a house overlooking the sea but certainly not one right on the sand; as you say, it gets everywhere! Pleased you had such a lovely break. Looking forward to seeing the bathroom when done.

  5. I had to go look up Spanish omelets, Kit. So basically, it’s eggs and potatoes? Do you put other ingredients in it? I’m intrigued and would LOVE the recipe. 🙂

  6. Sounds like a very special time for you all, Laurie. It’s lovely that you have such a close family unit. I like the sound of the omelets. Pour ingredients in a bag and toss into boiling water – now, that’s my kind of cooking 🙂

    • I agree about this easy-peasy way to cook breakfast for a crowd. After the prep work is done, everyone makes their own and we just watch the water boil. Lol.

  7. Valerie J. Patterson

    Very nice! Sounds like fun was had by all. I would love a place by the ocean, but I think I would get tired of trying to combat the endless sand, too! As for the omelet in a bag, I’ve been making them since Girl Scouts. Best way to feed a large group and not have to clean pans blackened over a camp fire! 😛

    • Aha! You’re the first person I’ve known who’s heard of omelets in a bag. So glad to know we’re not the only one! 🙂

      • Valerie J. Patterson

        Oh yes, and I’ve introduced a host of folks to them during camp outs with Scouts and my Sunday school classes. I’m always up for cooking without dishes! lol 😛 Have you ever tried a fishing pole breakfast?

Leave a Reply

