A Yummy Summer Appetizer

Well, I had hoped by now to have a new bathroom to show you all. We’ve been remodeling the main bathroom in our house and had hoped to be done by now, but got slowed down by my own decision making and family stuff that took precedence. FYI – I love newly finished rooms, but the process of selecting colors and materials is agonizing. I second guess myself all over the place.

Anyhow, since I don’t have a new room to show you, I thought I’d put up my favorite appetizer, second only to fresh made salsa. I may have posted this before. I looked and couldn’t find it, but either way, it’s a great Spring and Summer dip, best with pita chips, but I use who grain tortilla chips.

Layered Greek Dip
(from my Better Homes & Gardens cookbook)

8 ounce package of cream cheese, softened
1 tablespoon lemon juice
1 teaspoon dried Italian seasoning
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 ½ cups hummus
1 cup chopped cucumber
1 cup chopped tomato
½ cup chopped pitted Kalamata olives (I leave these off)
½ cup crumbled feta cheese
1/3 cup sliced green onions

In medium bowl beat cream cheese, lemon juice, and Italian seasong with an electric mixer on medium speed until smooth.

Spread cream cheese mixture into a deep 9-inch pie plate or shallow serving dish. Evenly spread hummus on cream cheese layer. Top with cucumber, tomato, olives, feta cheese, and green onions. Cover and chill for 2 to 24 hours.

It’s fresh and a nice warm weather appetizer.
Enjoy!

Addendum Thursday 5/14/15:

Okay, here’s a couple pictures now that the grout is in so you can see the tile work and wall colors. Accent wall in darker blue and the rest in a somewhat lighter blue. Next week is heat ducting and flooring. For now, though, we get 4 days off and I am vacuuming and dusting! 🙂

 

 

16 responses to “A Yummy Summer Appetizer

  1. Yummy and I’m looking forward to bathroom pictures.

    • Thanks. I asked hubby if he thought I’d be able to use the tub by my birthday next month and he said that was a good goal to shoot for. So I guess I’m in for a few more weeks of renovating. Worth the wait, right?

  2. Sounds good I will give it a try!! Thanks

  3. Valerie J. Patterson

    Looking forward to the bathroom renovation photos, Laurie! Thanks for the recipe, too! 😛

    • Finally got some color on the walls today. Another two weeks, minimum. What a process!

      • Valerie J. Patterson

        And when it’s all done, you’ll be so glad you did it. One of the ladies I work with is going through a bathroom remodel, too. They’re knocking down a wall to make it twice its original size. Better her than me! 😛

  4. Thanks for posting the recipe, Laurie, and really looking forward to seeing your new bathroom photos when you’re done.

  5. Nice recipe! AND can’t wait to see the room!

  6. Just added a couple pics to this blog so you can see the tile work and colors. 🙂

  7. Yummy sounding recipe – all my favourite things Greek! You’ll be thrilled when the bathroom is complete, Laurie (although it might be now, I’m a bit late catching up). A lot of hassle and mess and chaos but sooo good when done. Look forward to seeing the end product.

Leave a Reply

