Surprise Visit

bunny02Easter was just over a week ago and I got up a little late. It was a beautiful morning and I have a few spring flowers blooming adding to the joy of the day.

Still a little sleepy I started a cup of coffee and while it was brewing I glanced out of the window and saw this big beautiful bunny. We have a lot of wild ones over at the other house but this one was a lot bigger. Seeing it was a surprise as I have a six foot wooden fence, and except by the gate it is a pretty snug fit at the bottom.

So a nice visit to start the day and a new week. Sometimes it is the small things that make me stop and think what a great world we live in. And what better day then Easter for this little guy to make an appearance?

We’ve been talking quite a bit about Spring but it’s hard not to when the whole world seems to be in bloom. Talking about the bunny… I did find where he had done some nibbling on the plants. Oh well what’s a little pruning in comparisome to the joy he brings as he hops around the yard. I can’t seem to get a picture and haven’t seen him for a few days so he may have moved on to another garden.

15 responses to “Surprise Visit

  1. Ahhh, what a nice surprise to have a visit from the Easter Bunny. 🙂 As for the nibbling, better him than the deer. I love deer, but they can decimate gardens, especially roses.

  2. I used to have bunnies in my yard, the neighbor kids 2 doors down had pet rabbits they would let loose (not a good idea). It was fun to watch them but they also got into my garden. Then one day I saw one of the bunnies along side the road, hit by a car apparently. And I heard that the other one got mauled by the dog, these same kids had as a pet. Those bunnies did not land in a good home, they weren’t cared for very well. My daughter and son in law had a bunny when they were first married..Felicia was treated like a queen. She now rests out under their lilac tree in their side yard.

    • I’ve heard they make good pets but that they can be destructive in the house as they chew on things. It’s good to hear stories like Felicia’s. So many people get animals and then discard them. These type of people need to have cabbages for pets. Or maybe pet rocks. 🙂

  3. That is so cute wish you could have gotten a picture !!

  4. Yay! The Easter Bunny is alive and well! People think I’m mad, but I’d love to see some wildlife in my garden – bunnies, squirrels, and deer, wow! But then I’m not the greatest gardener, so I wouldn’t be too worried about the plants. We’ve had the odd hedgehog over the years, but it would be lovely to see more.

    • Yep it appears he is. So funny he would come around just that morning. No sign of the little guy now. Over at the Pacific place we had all kinds of critters. Some good, some not so much. Deer, possum, raccoons, mink, squirrels, and lots and lots of rabbits.

  5. Valerie J. Patterson

    Oh! I love it when I see wildlife in the yard. We have a family of doves that arrive every spring and make a nest for the new babies and then they fly south. I know spring has officially begun when I see mama dove in the yard! 😛

    • Doves would be nice. And an annual occasion to look forward too. I have some swallows that make a mess. The first year I didn’t realize what was going on until the babies hatched so just watched walking under the drive in that spot. Last year I washed down the nest building daily. They are really persistent and not only at my house as they seem to like some of the neighbors too.

      • Valerie J. Patterson

        We have had problems in the past with birds building nests in the rafters of our back porch. Horrible, horrible mess they would make, plus cover everything in poo! Finally had to close in the roof so that there were no more places for them to build nests. The doves have never ever been a problem. I enjoy seeing them return annually.

  6. very cool that you caught the Easter Bunny relaxing after all his duties. It was kind of you not to be upset that he took himself a bit of a nibble.

  7. What a great Easter surprise. Hope he drops by again some time. x

    • I’ve since heard that some neighbors are having trouble with the bunnies. I hadn’t seen one before and I’ve been here almost 2 1/2 years. And, he hasn’t been back.

Leave a Reply

