Happy birthday, Dad!

ja 2My father turned 88 yesterday. He’s in poor health and wheelchair bound, but he has such a strong spirit, it’s astounding. We call him the Energizer Bunny because he keeps going and going and going, something we’re grateful for.

What I’d really like to blog about is the relationship he and my step-mom have. They’ve been married for 38 years and had a bunch of good years, then things kind of deteriorated for a while. What I find interesting is how they are now. Both have significant health issues and live in assisted living facilities. Different facilities, mind you. Both have varying degrees of dementia, my step-mom sadly quite a bit worse than my father.

Dad says it’s good for them, that they don’t live in the same place. Yet he calls her about 4 times every day. Each Wednesday, Dad schedules a local shuttle service to take him to my step-mom’s facility, where they get two hours to spend together. And sometimes, we take him by to see her.

They are like newlyweds, holding hands, smiling, and simply sitting there gazing at each other. It’s adorable. The fights are all gone and maybe those memories with them. I don’t know. I just know that somehow, through all this mess of medical condition tacked onto medical condition, they found the beginning of their relationship again, the newness.

And I think it’s about the sweetest thing I’ve ever seen. So happy birthday, Dad. Ain’t young love grand? 🙂

15 responses to “Happy birthday, Dad!

  1. Oh Laurie that is precious . Happy birthday to your Dad and may he keep going and going.

  2. I love old pictures it reminds us we weren’t born 60, 70 or 80. And, I’m so happy for your Dad that he has recaptured some of his bygone days.

  3. That is so lovely, Laurie. Many Happy Returns of the day to your Dad. That is a real love story he and your step-mum have going and is really precious. Good for them!

  4. Happy Birthday, “Dad!” 🙂

  5. Valerie J. Patterson

    I just loved this! I am a true blue dyed into my soul romantic, and this is a great love story. Happy Birthday to your dad, Laurie! May the hand-holding continue for many years to come!! 😛

  6. how sweet that he goes over to see her and calls her so often. I love that this works for them and it’s so sweet. He’s a handsome man, too – lucky lady to have him! I know you treasure your time with him, too.

  7. Precious moments and a belated happy birthday to you dad, Laurie. Who says only the young know true romance? I think the holding hands is wonderful. Treasure each day together and long may the relationship and love continue.

Leave a Reply

