The Ides of March

P1100908This is my poor little shamrock plant that needs watering more often than any of my other plants…and I keep forgetting that. But it always forgives me and continues to hang in there, even if it’s not exactly full and lush.

So I was searching out information about the Ides of March and came across a Smithsonian blog that was both depressing and fascinating. Since it wasn’t my plan to talk about depressing stuff in this blog, I’ll simply add the link for anyone interested in ten reasons to beware the Ides of March. 🙂

Smithsonian Blog

Next, I hit history.com for some information. I suspect most folks know that the Ides of March is forever connected with the assassination of Julius Caesar, which happened on March 15, 44 B.C. However, the Ides of March became a phrase much earlier, around 753 B.C. when a ten month calendar began with March. Ides refers to the full moon, which at that time was around the 15th of the Month. So the Ides of March initially marked the first full moon of the new year. Being a moon child, you all probably know I’m a softy for any lunar reference.

FYI – the full 365 day Roman calendar was instituted in 46 B.C. when Julius Caesar made the year 365 days and set it to begin on January 1st. I had a hard time pulling this all together in my head, by the way, until I remembered that B.C. years would go backwards, not forward. So Caesar could change the calender in 46 B.C. because he didn’t die until 44 B.C. Duh. Sometimes, my brain just can’t wrap itself around things that aren’t part of my contemporary world. I guess that’s why I don’t write historical stories, eh?

12 responses to “The Ides of March

  1. Ahhh the Ides of March. I always associate it with Spring and I know it is sooo much more. And Shamrocks’ happy plants. Thanks for the information I always love these kind of blogs.

    • Hi, Lavada! Good to have you back. 🙂 Yep, I figured it was time for an informational blog. I’d talk about basketball, but would have to bring my son-in-law in to fill in the blanks. I don’t follow it, except to know that March Madness is starting.

  2. Fascinating stuff. Interesting about the calendar, and I hadn’t realized so many awful things had happened around the March full moon. Live and learn.

  3. LOL! I love your last lines. I always found it ironic that old Julius is the one who changed the calendar to the new one and then got himself remembered every March 15 as being killed on the Ides- AND as your research shows, that was the way they marked the middle of the month long before he died- it was called the Ides before he made it famous. I love the research you did and attached.

  4. Oh and I think having a shamrock plant is way cool.

  5. Valerie J. Patterson

    Laurie, I was so happy to see your shamrock plant. I have one in my office. I’ve had it for 3 years. I love, love, love the little white flowers on it. Yours is much bigger than mine, but I suspect mine would get bigger if I transplanted it into a larger pot. I water mine every Monday. Hold it under the faucet until it’s saturated and the water has ceased dripping from the bottom of the pot. 😛

    • Maybe I’m just not watering it enough, then. I do water it once a week with the other plants, but it’s very droopy by the time I get back to it. So thanks! I’ll try your watering suggestion.

  6. Crazy to think the year is almost a quarter of the through already! Love these fascinating blogs, Laurie, so full of interesting information 🙂 Never seen a shamrock grown as a pot plant before. I shall have to seek one out.

    • I know, Kit. Where has this year gone? And why do I feel like I’m saying that ALL the time. Lol. I think I need to slow things down a bit, smell the…shamrocks, so to speak. 🙂

Leave a Reply

