Happy President’s Day in the USA, Valentine’s Day, AND Mardi Gras

Today is President’s Day here in the USA- a day where we honor our presidents. When I was in elementary school, we had two holidays out of school in the early part of the new year – one was George Washington’s Birthday and one was Abraham Lincoln’s birthday. I always thought it was cool that “Honest Abe” and “Cannot Tell a Lie George” were celebrated so close together.

When Martin Luther King day came along, the powers that be combined George and Abe’s birthdays into one day- kind of like two kids having to share a birthday cake, huh? As the years went on, it seemed more and more companies didn’t take this day off any longer. I still take the day and allow my office to be closed. These men did a lot for our country- not least of which was one serving as the general in chief in the fight to establish this country and the other actually saving the young union when it was torn asunder by the Civil War. I, for one, honor them on this day and every day.

This past weekend was Valentines Day and I would be remiss as a romance writer if I didn’t wish that you all had a wonderful day. Tomorrow is Fat Tuesday, otherwise known as Mardi Gras. It’s the last day of feasting before Lent so if you give up something for Lent, better eat your fill today and tomorrow.

Happy various holidays this week! Enjoy!

17 responses to “Happy President’s Day in the USA, Valentine’s Day, AND Mardi Gras

  1. Valerie J. Patterson

    Happy various holidays to you as well, Jillian! A lot of celebration going on, but sadly too many people ignore Presidents’ Day these days. These two gentlemen of our history deserve to be honored and recognized for the contributions each made to our country.

    The snow in the north put a wee bit of a damper on Valentine’s Day. Saw a blizzard approach and then actually watched it transform everything white. Couldn’t even see the shrubbery in our own yard much less see the houses across the street.

    I have plenty of family in New Orleans celebrating Mardi Gras. Kinda wish I was among them! 😛 Fat Tuesday is intriguing! 😛

    • I agree, Valerie. These men def need to be honored. And I hope you guys get some relief from the weather soon. My son in Rhode Island says they’ve gotten 50 inches since Jan 24. That’s wild.

      I wish you were in New Orleans, too. It’s warm. Wild, but warm.

      >

      • Valerie J. Patterson

        Oh yeah, the east coasters are being snowed under. I love winter, but the frigid temps and the wind chill are too much even for me!! 😛

      • That’s what I’m hearing. Even the folks used to it aren’t happy. Hang in there.

        >

  2. Yes, I too believe President’s Day has become an optional honor. That’s kind of sad. But that I forgot tomorrow is Fat Tuesday? Geesh. What’s the matter with me?
    Valerie, I hope you and everyone else in snow country are surviving all that weather. Sending you warm hugs.

  3. Happy February and Presidents day and … We are having a record month. The Pacific NW is leaping into to spring early. It could still turn around but I’m not going to go there. It does make me more aware when I watch the news and see what the North East is going through. Hang in there Val it will end and then we’ll be commenting on the heat or rain. Though I’ll bet your ready.

  4. That’s sad about Presidents Day, Jillian, and smacks of a kind of dumbing down about events and people who shaped both our countries and history in general. Kudos to you for keeping the tradition alive. And Fat Tuesday? Love it.

  5. Well done you for keeping such a tradition alive. Too many of our gallant heroes are forgotten and dismissed as now longer relevant. Makes me cross, we need to celebrate the people who shaped our history and freedom. Love the term Fat Tuesday. We call it Shrove Tuesday or better known as Pancake Day, one tradition we love here. Any excuse to eat good things!

Leave a Reply

