Good Intentions

I can’t believe we are in February already! Where has the time gone? I don’t make New Year resolutions but at the start of every year, I resolve to carry out those tasks I have for one reason or another put off. And already, some of this year’s good intentions have slipped by the wayside. The first was to go out every day for a walk. I need the exercise as I do sit for long periods either at the desk or whilst painting. So far I’ve not managed one day; the weather has been far too cold and windy here for me to risk going out, and the past two weeks I have been laid very low with an awful chest infection and cough which doesn’t want to go away. But I do intend, once I feel fit enough, to venture out daily, even if only for 5 minutes. I hate this time of year as invariably I fall ill, I miss not being able to potter outside in the garden, and I sorely miss the warmth of the sun on my face. Roll on spring, I say.

What I find even harder to believe is that today sees the commencement of my fifth year being at home after having been made redundant and deciding to retire, of sorts. Those last few months working out my notice were filled with all the tasks and plans for things I wanted, nay needed, to do at home and I was itching to get started on them: things like cleaning out the kitchen cupboards, decluttering, and getting rid of the all the pots and dishes I never use.

The same with my cabinets in the dining room – why on earth was I hanging on to what must be a dozen rectangular table cloths when my dining table is round? These cupboards seem to breed junk, cookery books never used, dishes and all sorts given as gifts yet rarely removed from their boxes. Why was I holding on to a drawer full of cutlery, when we use the canteen we treated ourselves to for our 25th wedding anniversary? Miss-matched sets of crockery, a shelf full of drinking glasses we don’t use, empty biscuits tins that would one day come in handy. What other little treasures would I to find in the deep recesses of the shelves, I wondered? And, yes, you’ve guessed… I still haven’t sorted them out.

Then there’s the stash of recipes carefully torn from magazines – cake recipes and baking ideas and hints that need to be filed in a ring-binder instead of shoved down the side of the microwave. Which brings me onto the breadbin. No, don’t panic, it’s not full of breadcrumbs and mouldy bits of crust! We use our wooden breadbin as a storage box; it’s our medicine cabinet, but things in there I know are so out of date and old, it really must be sorted out. And soon.

And I won’t even mention the huge box full of photographs. Oh, all right then, I will. My husband and I love taking photographs; they do provide a lovely memory of people, places, times etc. But we even keep the bad photos, the blurred and not so good ones. Why, I ask myself. Why? Why? Why? They were all stored in one of the drawers in the base of our bed. When last year we refurbished our bedroom the packets of photos were consigned to a large plastic box in my dressing room, the divan drawers now used to store the bed linen. I really must sort them through and be ruthless, along with the overflowing wardrobes, groaning bookshelves in the office and, not least, the creepy dark cupboard under the stairs. Heaven only knows what’s lurking in there.

And yet, here I am several years down the line and not a thing done. It’s not that I’m lazy, far from it, but other things have somehow gotten in the way. I haven’t dawdled away four years. I set up a small publishing house helping other authors get published for the first time, got my first novel published, edited novels, painted, sold paintings, helped fund raise for my nephew (news of little George to come soon, I promise). All things as well as gardening, writing – not that I’ve done a lot of that lately – housework, holidays etc etc.

So, maybe the intentions were there and still are, but at least they are good intentions and somehow, this year, they are going to be done. I’m determined. But first, I’m going for that little walk. Not far, it’s freezing out there this morning, but I have to start somewhere. Small steps. And who knows, by this time next year I might have achieved something: a tidy, clutter-free house along with a feeling of a job well done.

9 responses to “Good Intentions

  1. Oh, my gosh, you’ve just described my kitchen! Lol. Actually, hubby and I have been in de-clutter mode for a couple years now, so the kitchen is much better than it used to be. But I still have all those recipes shoved beside the microwave. 🙂 And Kit? Even though you haven’t gotten to some of the things on your list, look at what you have done. It looks to me like you fed your artistic soul these past years. And isn’t that what retirement really is all about?
    Laurie

    • We’ve thrown so much out over the past few years as we’ve been redecorating, Laurie, I can’t believe what junk we still hold on to. Seems the more room we make, the more we accumulate. Still, must admit would rather be writing and painting than sorting. And yes, that’s what retirement is all about. It’ll all get done one day. 🙂

  2. Valerie J. Patterson

    Good intention…we all have them. Somehow, most of the time, something interferes, something competes for our time and the good intentions are pushed back. I hope you get to those daily walks, Kit. Tackle one cupboard a month and by December, you’ll be decluttered, too. 😛

    • Couldn’t walk out today – far too cold for my old chest so spent the afternoon decluttering the computer. Well, it’s a start. But what a good idea – tackle one cupboard a month. Why didn’t I think of that. So now we’re into Feb, which cupboard to hit first? Decisions, decisions. 🙂

  3. I’ve been in this house 2 years and got rid of soooo much when I moved. The plus side of downsizing is it’s a 100% easier to keep clean. But I’m finding it takes concentrated effort to not again build up an accumulation. So like you I have a todo list that included going through the closet and bedroom drawers.

    I’m with Laurie on looking at all you have accomplished. A while back, when I was bemoaning that it never seems I get anything done Laurie suggested I keep a ‘done’ list to go along with my ‘todo’ list. I LOVE it. I only keep two months and it’s been fun to compare one month to the other.

    • Certainly have done a lot these past few years, Lavada, so I shouldn’t complain. And what’s a cluttered cupboard or two to worry over. What I really want to get working on is the garden. Itchy green fingers but far too cold here yet. The cupboards can wait, the garden cannot. Well, that’s my excuse! 🙂

  4. LOL, loved the reference to wrong-sized tablecloths. Why do we store things we’ll likely never use? You have gotten a lot done these last four years, Kit. So what if it isn’t the things you’d planned? You have a whole list of achievements to show for your time and I know you have enjoyed (mostly) every moment. So, here’s to the next four years and if you still haven’t gotten those cupboards sorted by then…well, there’s always the next four 😉

  5. Ha ha. Indeed, Tricia. Shall just have to buy more cupboards! Yes, much achieved but will have to tackle dining room soon as that’s next on the refurbish list and cupboards will need to go into storage. But why is it when I’m working on one thing, I think of all the other things I could be doing? 🙂

  6. so happy you are doing well with your new adventures. The best laid plans don’t always work out but it seems better things may have some along in their place!

Leave a Reply

