The Birthday Saga

My birthday is in June. My husband’s is in December. There’s something to be said on behalf of summer birthdays. Seems like less chance of being sick, which is the story for this birthday tale.

My husband hit a milestone birthday on December 29th. It had been a year of dealing with our first major illness, which he’s happily pretty much recovered from. However, I think it scared the heck out of all of us, especially the kids. So we planned to whoop it up and make the birthday something special.

20141228_125904

Our plan was an open house style gathering here at our place. It was during the Seattle Seahawks football game (Go, Seahawks!!!!) and we could watch the game, visit, and celebrate Mark’s birthday. Over 50 people were coming. Food was planned out, the cake ordered.

Then I got sick with a cold (that lasted more than 3 weeks). And the day before the party, hubby caught that cold. With this being prime cold and flu season, the right thing to do was put the word out. Neither of us wanted to pass on these germs.

So we did just that and scaled the party back to minimal food. We still had 8 hardy souls who said they’d already had this cold come by, and we’re grateful for that, but also very, very glad most didn’t come. Being sick is NOT fun.

Hubby, with his wonderful sense of humor, put caution tape up to keep folks from getting too close. 🙂

2014-12-28 14.11.34

Anyhow, it was still a fun birthday. Lots of cards and emailed and phoned birthday wishes came in. The Seahawks won! And our children spent the two months prior putting together a special video and picture montage of greetings for Dad. Eighteen minutes of love we’ve watched several times now. It was, and still is, the highlight of our December.

So big birthday plans became small because of illness, but it ended up being a larger than life birthday, with lots of good memories to kick off a new decade with. The only major drawback? All that leftover cake. Lol.

14 responses to “The Birthday Saga

  1. Valerie J. Patterson

    Loved the caution tape! Your husband has a very kind face, and I *knew* I saw some orneriness in his eyes, which was confirmed when I saw the caution tape and read that he’d put it up! Happy Birthday to him. It seems to me the best gift to be had was the memories video. It would appear the Ryan clan is tightly knitted, and a loving family to be sure. 😛

  2. the cake is beautiful! I am digging the crime scene tape. FUN! Sorry you guys were sick- hope you are both 100% now.

  3. Just enlarged the cake picture. I love the sticker Mark is wearing! LOL!

  4. Love the pics but can’t see the sticker. Sorry I missed the party I’d have helped eat the cake. 🙂

  5. I can’t remember what the sticker says and it’s too blurry for me when I blow it up. But it was in a card his cousin sent him and he loved it. 🙂

  6. Gosh Laurie if I were closer I’d help you with that cake!! Sounds like you had a great time. A late Happy Birthday to your hubby!! Enjoy the Suoer Bowl.

  7. Love Mark’s sense of humour! Sorry about your colds though, and hope you’ve now both fully recovered. A belated Many Happy Returns of the day to Mark!

  8. A belated happy birthday to Mark and hope you are both recovered. Had a nasty cold and cough myself so you have my sympathies. It is a good job we can keep a sense of humour and so good you enjoy celebrating birthdays. My husband doesn’t believe in them. It’s his on Friday and whether he likes it or not he’s getting a cake!

Leave a Reply

