The Incredible Cauliflower

images1-2015When we first started Over The Backyard Fence we used a lot of our Monday posts for recipe’s. Since I don’t cook much it didn’t take too long for me to run out of tried and true dishes so lately I’ve concentrated more on food. This Week I chose Cauliflowers. I can remember when it was just another vegetable, used mainly in soup and almost always included in raw vegetable trays with dip. Rarely did I use it as a side dish, but when I did, mostly for holidays or company, it simply had to have a cheese topping. Now I use it as an alternative to potatoes. It fries and mashes really well. Put in omelets it is a healthy addition.

History:
Cauliflower traces its origin back to the wild cabbage which resembled kale or collards more than the vegetable that it is today. It went through many transformations and reappeared as an important vegetable since at least 600 B.C.

I didn’t realize that cauliflowers can come in different colors as I’ve only seen the white ones. They also are yellow, green and purple. 201px-Purplec

I looked up recipes and one that caught my attention was using cauliflowers instead of rice in fried rice. Ummm. Also in stir fries. Anyone have any recipe’s to share?

As always, we love to have guest bloggers. Click on Contact us if you have a blog to share.

15 responses to “The Incredible Cauliflower

  1. Is that a purple cauliflower? So unusual looking.

    • Thanks for stopping by. I had no idea cauliflower came in anything but white and a sort of yellow. Maybe they are like the red cabbage that always looks so good in salads. 🙂

  2. I don’t eat cauliflower often and I’m not sure why.I like it. In fact, I made roasted garlic mashed cauliflower for Thanksgiving and it was awesome! I really need to get this into my regular diet, so thanks for the reminder.

    • I need to get them more in my diet too. Spiffy’s, where we often meet Nancy and Jim for brunch, has a vegie scramble that includes cauliflower. Love it, healthy until Nancy and I select the huge carrot muffins with creme cheese frosting to go with it. 🙂

  3. I love cauliflower too! Its good in a curry too! Just cauliflower with potato curry. I also add it to stews and use the leaves for extra flavor.

  4. Valerie J. Patterson

    Purple cauliflower?!?! Cool. Never knew it existed. Would make a colorful dish, wouldn’t? 😛

  5. I only like raw cauliflower. I’m very much a texture person when it comes to food and the cooked texture is a no go for me. Lol

  6. Like Jillian, I love raw cauliflower. The cooked stuff is always so soggy, at least it is when I cook it, LOL!

  7. Not a lover of cauliflower unless it’s in a cheese sauce, but somehow purple looks wrong. That said, we do grow and eat purple sprouting broccoli which is part of the same family but it turns green when cooked. Does purple cauli go green when cooked, I wonder.

Leave a Reply

