Take Five and Focus – A New Year

Happy “Thank God We Can Get Back To Normal Life” Day! You’ve officially survive the holidays. Now that all the hubbub is over and we’ve begun a new year, for me, it’s time to figure out my focus for the year and how I can reach my goals. As an author, there are always goals and things to do. I can say the same thing about being a wife, mother, grandmother, and friend.

But I’ve been giving this a lot of thought and I’d like this to be a gentler year. By that, I mean not quite so rushed and more in the moment. Being a planner, I have this bad habit of being in one moment, but thinking/organizing/planning the next. I’d like to break that habit and be more “now.” Enjoy THIS time, not anticipate the next time.

One of the ways I’m going to try to bring that about is to de-tech a bit. For instance, we have a landline phone, so why do I carry my cell with me around the house? If it’s important, folks will call the house phone, right?

Another thing I’ve started is to “Take Five.” I read somewhere that taking five minutes each day to sit quietly and be with yourself is great for reducing stress. So in October, I started a Take Five page on Facebook, thinking I’d chronicle my attempts to take five and see if anyone would find and join the page. Well, I haven’t been very good at doing my five minutes a day, since I’ve only commented on the page twice since then. I need to step it up, which is my plan for this new year.

Since I work from home, I’m also going to try to set “office hours” and walk away from the computer when those hours are done.

So that’s my goal this year. To learn to be in the moment. How about you? Any goals you’d like to share? Or do you prefer not to set goals? There’s a saying with writers. You’re either a plotter (planner) or a pantser (roll with whatever happens) kind of person. I’m a plotter. How about you?

16 responses to “Take Five and Focus – A New Year

  1. As you know I’m more of a pantster. But I do believe in getting ahead and acting so I don’t have to react. So maybe a bit of both. I have been getting off and staying off the computer more. That’s a good thing. I’ll l always be a list maker. As I’m writing this I’m thinking that while I’m a pantster in my writing I really a strong planner in life. Good blog gave me things to think about. I’m looking forward to comments to see what others do.

  2. I was going to say, you are the goal queen in organizing your year, so there’s a planner in you somewhere. Lol.

  3. Love the idea of taking five minutes a day, Laurie, and also the idea of setting office hours. I’m always tempted to keep the computer on well into the evening and it can’t be good for us, can it? I’m a goal-setter generally, although a pure pantser in my writing LOL. Goals are generally writing-related, but this year I have a goal to be true to myself in all things and not be swayed too much by other people’s opinions. Oh, and be more organised. Ha, that was on last year’s list too!

  4. The five minutes a day really does help with stress. I need to get back to it. I set goals, and for writing I’m half and half. Half a plotter, and half a pantser. I am working this year on keeping better office hours so to speak, I do have my four legged friend who reminds me when I’m in the office too late. Very nice post, Laurie.

  5. Five minutes a day is good. Ten minutes even better. Yet strangely, now decorations put away, fridge and freezer looking back to normal (nearly empty), family and visitors gone and Dave back to work, the house is strangely quiet and those ten minutes are more like ten hours to fill. I’ve made plans and set a few goals. The first, to stop procrastinating so much and get on with something – preferably not housework. My time is my own, and I intend to fill every moment. But first, will take ten minutes to enjoy another coffee. Role on Spring when I can enjoy it in the garden. 🙂

    • I’ve been filling every moment, and a lot of that has been with work. So I’m trying to learn to relax and just “be” more. Hard to do for a fidgeter like me. 🙂 And yes, I normally love my seasons, but I could agree with you that Spring would be nice about now. We’ve had no snow (I like snow) and a fairly dreary winter here.

  6. Good for you for setting boundaries on the office hours. I have that same kind of issue sometimes but I’m working on that as well. It’s a busy time for me with annual reports for the day job but I’m ready for normal, too.

  7. Valerie J. Patterson

    I definitely take time every day for me. Some days it’s barely 5 minutes and other days it’s longer. Whatever I feel I need, but it’s important to take some time and sit and be quiet.

    • Good for you, Valerie! I’m still struggling to set up a routine.

      • Valerie J. Patterson

        I really miss the warm weather–more than normal–because I was taking the time every day to sit on the porch and just chill. Little too cold to sit outside unless you’re an Eskimo!! lol 😛

        I don’t know that it’s a routine you need, Laurie. I think you need to just grab time whenever or wherever the moment presents itself, as that moment is usually when you need it.

  8. I’m working on it. 🙂 And I know what you mean about missing the warmth.

Leave a Reply

