On The Eve of 2015

imagesWe are on the threshold of another year. The door to 2015 is wide open and I can’t help but wonder what it will bring. When I looked up images to use for this post I found one that was a door opening on blue skies. I almost used it as we all want blue skies. But then I realized that through a year many doors will open so this one seemed to be a better choice.

The eve of a new year is a time to reflect on the past year. Did you make resolutions? If so did you accomplish them? I don’t make resolutions but I do make lists. For just about everything including annual goals. So what’s the difference between goals and resolutions? And, we all know this, I just need to remind myself from time to time.

If there is a specific achievement it’s a goal.
• lose 25lbs is a goal.
• Maintain a healthy weight is a resolution

The key is to know which life changes are attainable goals and which ones are permanent resolutions. Weight for me is more than losing just a set number of lbs. Instead I would like to modify my diet to eat healthy and improve my stamina with exercise. But I’ve found that I need to have both goals and resolutions in my life.

As I write this a question comes to mind. Do I accomplish all of annual goals? No, in fact I could capitalize that NO. But I accomplish some of them and if I didn’t make that list I no doubt wouldn’t do as well as I do. And, for sure I wouldn’t be able to look back on the checked off ones with the sense of accomplishment.

So the door is open and 2015 a step away. May your dreams come true and they will because like a trip, the fun is in the journey as much as the destination. So all you have to do is dream the dreams you want to live.

Happy New Year. ☺

9 responses to “On The Eve of 2015

  1. I love this analogy of many doors, many possibilities. And I agree that, even though I don’t generally accomplish everything on my goal list, I get more done because of it. But the thing that resonates most with me about your blog is the final statement about enjoying the trip, not focusing on the destination. I tend to focus on exactly that and I need to relax and enjoy all the in between stuff!
    Happy New Year!

    • I think we all focus on the end product or destination unless we consciously change our view along the way. Looking forward to a New Year it sort of feels like looking at the gift wrapped packages under the tree. Full of mystery and surprises. 🙂 🙂

  2. Thank you for the reminder to enjoy the journey, although I do feel motivated by the thought of the destination 🙂 It’s the balance I need to find! Like you, I don’t always achieve all my yearly goals, but without setting them I wouldn’t achieve half of what I do. Wishing you, and everyone here at OTBF, a year full of mystery and wonderful surprises!

  3. Goal setting is needed in my life, even if I never achieve them, it gives me focus and at least a start to the new year with good intentions. This year is going to be my year, one where I concentrate on “me” instead of everyone else. If that sounds selfish, it isn’t. I think I deserve a little me year. Wishing you all a new year full of happiness and laughter, fun and health. Let’s make it a good one!

  4. love the photo and the idea behind resolutions – I never make them because they set me up for failure. LOL

  5. Valerie J. Patterson

    Don’t make new year resolutions. But I like seeing a new year roll in. It’s a fresh start, a new beginning and a settling of the year coming to a close. Also a time of reflection. Happy 2015 to you Lavada!

Leave a Reply

