Legos Build More Than Just Houses

In this time of frenzied holiday shopping, I got a moment to reflect yesterday. Two of our granddaughters listed Legos on their Christmas wish lists.

It seems like Legos have been around for, well, forever. They certainly have the same staying power that Barbie has. Actually, I checked. Barbie was unveiled in 1959. Legos have been around longer, since 1932. Now that’s staying power.

Even though it’s been a long time since children lived in our house full time, we still have the box of Legos. Of our eight grandchildren, seven have spent numerous hours playing with them. (The eighth is only 10 months old…her time to play will come.) And I have spent a lot of those hours sitting on the floor building houses and garages and Christmas trees and zoos and cars and so many other things.

P1100565

And I do this because of tradition. You see, my mother has a similar box at her house. She bought it when she started having grandchildren, I think. All of our kids played with those Legos. Everyone knew where the box was and went straight for it when they got to Gramma’s house. Well, maybe they detoured by the cookie jar. 🙂

Last month, I was there with a couple of my grandkids and they found the box. I loved that my mother’s great-grandchildren were now playing with these timeless toys.

220

So Legos are a welcome tradition in my family. And I’m so glad for this ability to tie generations together. We weren’t just building objects all these years, we were building memories. And I’m so grateful for each and every one of them.

I hope your holiday, however you perceive it, is filled with building memories.

Laurie Ryan (and family)

11 responses to “Legos Build More Than Just Houses

  1. Reading your post bought back many happy memories, Laurie. How lovely that you can play lego with your grandchildren, and that your mother can do the same. Lego was a mainstay in our house when we were children. Legoland (theme park) is very popular here in the UK, and one of these days I’ll have to check it out. Happy Christmas to you and your family!

  2. I didn’t know there was a LegoLand in the UK. There’s one in southern California in the US but I haven’t been yet.
    Merry Christmas right back, Tricia!

  3. Yes! Lego’s and kids go hand in hand. I don’t have any here it’s so nice that you and your mother kept yours. Merry Christmas.

  4. Big fan of Legos here, too. And Lincoln logs and k-nex. I think it’s made an architect of one of my kids. Lol. JillI.

  5. There’s Lego at your house?! I’m coming straight over. Lego was my favourite plaything as a child. Many years ago on a visit to family in Germany, I talked my mother into buying me bits that then weren’t available in the UK. I especially remember a little black Mercedes car that came with its own little garage with up-and-over door, and that could be built into a Lego house. We also bought back clear bricks that could be lit up using thin cable to tiny batteries. Oh happy days. My huge collection was passed on to my nephew Gary, who now has an even bigger collection and is a massive Lego fan. I’ve never been to the UK Lego park but gather it’s huge and popular. Lovely that you keep a box full at your house. Great tradition. x 🙂

    • i love hearing Lego stories, Kit, and that you enjoyed playing with them. Truth be told, when I’m on the floor playing with the grandkids, I’m have more fun than they are, I think. 🙂

  6. Valerie J. Patterson

    Oh! I love Legos! So easy to be creative with a set of colorful, snap-together blocks! My little sister was the first to have Tinker Toys, but I still preferred Legos. Oh, and Lincoln Logs! Loved Lincoln Logs!

Leave a Reply

