Special Events Lead to Special Memories by Valerie J. Patterson

Steve and I enjoy going to the theater.  It’s something we’ve always done.  We just enjoy movies whether they be mysteries, comedies, or action movies–and sometimes science fiction joins the mix.  However, we’ve recently taken to seeing the special events sponsored by Fathom Events.

A short time ago we got to enjoy Driving Miss Daisy with Angela Lansbury and James Earl Jones.  Phenomenal!  Angela Lansbury and James Earl Jones were remarkable, and just made for a special evening!!  It was an incredible, memorable event.

One of my very favorite movies is the musical White Christmas with Bing Crosby, Danny Kaye, Rosemary Clooney, and Vera Ellen.  2014 is the 60th anniversary of this musical, and Steve just happened across an advertisement for a limited engagement screening of the original White Christmas complete with commentary, interviews, and behind the scenes extras.  This event was being presented by Fathom Events and was available for two days only.  Steve took me to dinner and then to the screening.

It was incredible!  Loved every minute of it.  I’ve seen the musical countless times on TV, but to see it on the big screen just made it all the more better.  It was nearly three hours of pure enjoyment.  Loved the commentaries, the history on the cast and the film, and the anecdotes that were told about the cast during filming.  Definitely one of the highlights of the Christmas season!

We’re looking forward to seeing two of the operas being offered through this special event program.  What could be better than seeing the opera in the comfort of blue jeans and sneakers while munching popcorn?

Until next time, I hope you’re enjoying your Christmas season, have all your shopping completed and your wrapping done!  And to quote Bing Crosby, “If you’re worried and you can’t sleep, just count your blessings instead of sheep.”

11 responses to “Special Events Lead to Special Memories by Valerie J. Patterson

  1. Oooh, White Christmas! One of my favorite holiday movies. I would love to see it on the big screen. I’m glad you got to do that. 🙂 Hoping you and your family have a very merry Christmas, Valerie.

    • Valerie J. Patterson

      It is a great movie and seeing it on the big screen was incredible! I hope you and your family had a wonderful Christmas!

  2. Classic movies alway make me feel good. And, there’s no better time then Christmas and the Christmas movies. It is a magical time of year. Marry Christmas.

  3. What a great idea, Valerie! I’d love to see the old classics on the big screen. White Christmas is a favourite of mine, too. I always wanted to dance like Vera Ellen! Wow, those legs! Have a wonderful Christmas!

    • Valerie J. Patterson

      Those legs, indeed! And she never seemed out of breath!! 😛 One of my favorites, too. I hope you all had a great Christmas holiday!

  4. Favorite movie. Love, love white Christmas. I watch it all year round. Awesome that you got to see it big and wide. So cool

  5. My favourite Christmas movie is White Christmas, and that song always brings a lump to my throat and ache in my heart. Magical. Brilliant that you got to see it on a big screen. Envious. 🙂

    • Valerie J. Patterson

      I really enjoyed myself, and I think movies like White Christmas bring out the very best in us and our ideals of what the world should be like. Hope you and yours had a terrific Christmas!!

Leave a Reply

