To Wait or Weight

Over the years, I’ve tried to lose weight in various ways. I’ve dieted, Weight-Watched, Boot-camped, dieted some more, even did a 60 mile, 3-Day walk for charity that took 6 months of training to prepare for.

Nothing has worked. Well, I shouldn’t say nothing. It’s all worked to varying degrees, but never for the long haul. So over the past couple years, I’ve tried not to stress over my weight (much), choosing to maintain a walking routine and try to eat healthier without focusing on the weight.

However, this last appointment to the doctor was a “lose weight or go on blood pressure medicine” appointment. So I have no choice but to focus again on the weight. I joined my local YMCA, but needed motivation to keep going.

They have a boot camp there, but the one time I tried boot camp, it just about killed me. Lol. Okay, so it didn’t really almost kill me, and I did lose 32 pounds in 6 weeks. But it meant generic group classes where I struggled to do just about everything.

So this time, I’ve decided to invest in my health in a different way. I’ve started working out with a personal trainer two days a week. She works me harder than I’ve ever worked before. I can’t remember the last time I sweat through a shirt unless it was a 100 degree day and I was outside in it. Wow. She really works me. But always, always, the first thing is a discussion of how I’m feeling. We’re gentle on my torn meniscus knee, but still manage to strengthen both legs. She modifies each and every visit, tailoring it to what I can handle without being hurt. And we go over food and calories and set limits, adjusting as needed. I’m tracking food and counting calories, which is a time drain I don’t like, but oh well. It’s part of the process.

I’ve lost about 15 pounds in the two months I’ve been doing this, and I’ll lose more, I believe. But more than the weight loss, I’ve gained SO much. She’s shown me that I can do more than I thought I could. That’s pretty darn empowering.

  • When I started, I was walking on a flat treadmill at 3.0 miles per hour. Now, I walk at a 5.5 incline at 3.5 miles per hour and bump both the incline and the speed for parts of my treadmill time.
  • I’m doing a little jogging. Not much, but some.
  • My 5 pound weights here at home feel light. I’m using 10-12 pound weights at the gym.
  • I bench-pressed my trainer! She held on to the press machine and I lifted her weight. Five times!
  • And the biggest change for me is that, with someone standing on or holding my feet, I can now do a sit-up! I can’t remember the last time I did anything but a partial curl.

I’ve never managed to stick with something long enough to see these kinds of changes, so for the first time in, I think, ever, I’m excited to go to the gym. I’m with her two days a week, then workout on my own two days a week, then a walk with a friend one day and Sunday’s, I take the day off.

I am praying that I can keep this up. I’ll stay with her throughout this holiday season, then will be on my own with just check-ins once in a while. That’s going to be the toughest time for me to stay motivated. So say a quick prayer come January that I am as enthusiastic and motivated as I am now.

‘Cuz it feels GREAT at the moment. Sore, but great! 🙂
Laurie

10 responses to “To Wait or Weight

  1. I am major impressed. As soon as I hear the E word I’m running. No kidding I can walk with someone or on trips and it isn’t E’ing so I’m good. But if I do it as part of a exercise routine it doesn’t work. And, I need to make it work as weight is really getting to be a bad word for me. Gone are the day’s I’d eat a peanut butter and honey open faced sandwich in the hopes of breaking a 100lbs. Now I can’t even remember why I wanted to. Oh yeah they didn’t make cute clothes for twiggy figures back then.

    Congrats Laurie. You’re doing it.

  2. Oh, kudos to you, Laurie! You are doing really well. The personal trainer route is a great way to kick start a new regime, and it’s inspiring to know that the programme is made just for you and your requirements. It’ll be hard at times keeping the motivation going, but you can do it.

  3. The biggest challenge always seems to be just getting into the routine and sticking with it but you are on the right path! Being excited about it makes all the difference in the world!! Very proud of you 🙂

    • Yep. I’m at the Y 4 days a week, walk with a friend one day, and take two off. After the first of the year, I think I’ll drop to 3 days a week at the Y. Don’t want to burn out. (and thanks for the pride, daughter!)

  4. Valerie J. Patterson

    Laurie! Good for you! 😛 Your enthusiasm shone through this post. I wish you the very best of success, and I pray your healthier in 2015 than 2014. I’ve thought about working with a personal trainer, but have never done it. I hope you’ll continue to share your results with us! You go girl!! 😛

    • Having done a boot camp, where everyone does the same exercises, I’ve now become a HUGE proponent of personal trainers. She designs a program for ME. Shows me I can exceed my own goals. So thank you. I hope and pray I can continue it into the next year!

  5. that is awesome, Laurie. I love it and that you are doing so well with it. I’ll be pulling for you to be able to keep going.

  6. Full credit to you, Laurie. I too have had weight issues, mine for 40+ years since the birth of my daughter, and have tried every diet going. Health issues prevent me doing boot camp, but what a good idea a personal trainer is. Great for motivation. Good luck and hope you succeed. Wishing you every ounce of luck and effort. 🙂

Leave a Reply

