An Unwanted Passenger

I was happily chatting to Kit at our writers’ meeting on Wednesday, when she reminded me it was my turn to blog today. Yikes. Where did November go? I didn’t have a clue what to write about. It’s been a mish-mash sort of month – happy things and some not so happy – but I thought I’d blog about an incident that happened on my way to the writers meeting and which I’m still having nightmares about, well perhaps not nightmares, but pretty close.

It was foggy here that morning, but with the radio playing, the heat booming out, and my trusty little car running like a dream, all well with my world. Until I happened to glance across to the passenger dashboard. A huge spider was happily crawling its way across the board and heading in my direction. My scream was likely heard by the occupants of the cars travelling behind me, but luckily I held it together long enough to safely find a convenient place to stop.

Keeping a weather-eye on my unwanted travelling companion, I found a slip road ahead and pulled off the main road. I popped the hazard lights on and escaped from the hellish confines of my car. By which time the spider, of course, was nowhere to be seen. Five panicked minutes later, I still hadn’t located the offender. I pictured him tucked safely away somewhere, buggy little eyes eyeing me with devious delight as I continued the search.

There was no way I could get back in that car until I’d found him, but I wasn’t sure what to do. I virtually had the passenger door off its bracket and all manner of paraphernalia lying on the road, but all to no avail. Of course, AJ was away for the day, and friends who live locally were at work, so it was just little old me left alone to face what for me has been a lifelong demon. I thought to simply abandon my car and walk to the nearest bus stop, but as we live in the country the buses aren’t exactly frequent.

I gave myself a strong talking too. All the usual cliches came to mind. You’re bigger than he is, what harm can a little spider do a big girl like you? (likely nothing more than heart attack), He’s more frightened of you, than you are of him (something I seriously doubt), they are very useful insects and do a lot of good (not while terrorising unsuspecting scaredy-cat motorists, they don’t). Nothing worked, and as I stood there deliberating, I caught a movement along the central panel…and there he was. Brazen as you like, happily heading toward the driver’s seat. I grabbed the rolled up newspaper I had at the ready, scooped him onto the mat, and seconds later he was airborne, winging his way across the ether in the direction of a neighbouring village.

After putting the inside of my car back together, I was on my way. Not entirely happily, as I kept remembering someone once telling me that where there’s one spider there’s always another. Apparently they always travel in pairs, although I’m not sure if that’s true. When I told my hubby about my ordeal, all he said was, “I hope you didn’t hurt him by throwing him like that”. Men!

11 responses to “An Unwanted Passenger

  1. Eeeek! If that had happened to me, I would have parked the car and run. And would probably still be running. I’ve heard too that they go around in pairs. All credence to you for being so brave! And so glad you haven’t post a photo of the dreaded creature. As to November disappearing – soon it will be Christmas again. Where has the year gone? Now, that is scary! 🙂

  2. Like Kit, EEEEK was my first reaction. It’s an awful feeling, to have a spider “somewhere” in your car as you drive. Ewwwww. Once, when I was a kid, I woke up from sleep because a spider dropped right onto my face. I screamed so loud, I woke our entire household of 7 up. My brothers and sisters weren’t too pleased with me that night. Lol.

  3. Eeeek is the word that comes to my mind too. I hadn’t heard that spiders travel in pairs. Thanks for the info, I think. Now I’ll be looking for another one. I was with you when I saw your blog this morning and thought it can’t be the last Friday of the month. Glad I’m not the only one bemoaning how time has passed this year.

  4. I sort of wish I didn’t have that information either, Lavada, because now I’m always searching for that elusive second guy. Scary stuff.

  5. Cute Tricia, I think most of us can relate, why are we all so afraid of spiders??

  6. This was a funny post even though I know you were terrified at the time. I admire that you didn’t kill the intruder but flung him to both his safety and yours. Jillian

  7. LOL, I hope he survived the journey, Jillian! As much as I hate them, I can’t kill them.

  8. Valerie J. Patterson

    Oh Tricia! This was just the smile I needed! Loved your tale and I’m afraid my Aunt Sis would have mused the very same thing your AJ did for she was one who never killed a thing. If a spider was found, she scooped it onto a paper and set it outside. Glad you found your unwanted passenger, though, and went about your day!

Leave a Reply

