Thanksgiving 2014

ThanksgivingI don’t know what’s with me lately but I seem to do a lot of reflecting on things past. One good thing is that it brings to the forefront all I have to be Thankful for.

• Family – everyone lives close by. There were a couple of years that our daughter was away due to a military life. And, more recently our grandson’s family. Same thing, military. But for now they are all within a few miles.
• Health – So far, so good. I’ve had a few bumps in the road but very minor.
• Friends – I’m so very fortunate to have wonderful friends. One special friend I grew up with. We started the 2nd grade together. Ahhh the memories. We talk everyday. It isn’t like growing up when we ran in and out of each other’s houses but the phone is the next best thing.

These are only three things, I could fill pages with things I’m thankful for. Faith, is one that comes to mind. So as you are looking forward to feastday I wish you time to reflect and be Thankful.

A humerous fact:
If Ben Franklin would had his way, the turkey would have been the official bird of the United States. He gave as his reason — “The turkey is a true original native of America.”

Ummm wonder if we would still be able to eat them if this would have happened. Oh well another thing to be thankful for. ☺

9 responses to “Thanksgiving 2014

  1. Happy Thanksgiving. Enjoy! AND yep, I can’t even imagine the turkey being given protected status and us not allowed to eat them. LOL

  2. Ach, how did I miss Monday’s blog? I guess that’s a sign my week has been too busy. I, for one, am thankful the turkey did NOT become our national bird. I like turkey…a lot! 🙂 And this is a week of reflection, I think. We all tend to take time to remember and be thankful.
    Happy Thanksgiving, Lavada…to you and your close family!

  3. Hope you all had a happy and healthy Thanksgiving!

  4. Turkey has become the modern “traditional” food served here for Christmas, not that we have it in our house. I leaned an interesting fact on the radio just this morning. How true it actually is, I don’t know but it was claimed that it was thanks to the turkey at Thanksgiving, we now have the beauty of frozen meals. Apparently, a company called Swanson stocked too many turkeys for Thanksgiving and not knowing what to do with them, froze them, later turning them into the first frozen complete TV dinners rather than let them go to waste.

  5. Valerie J. Patterson

    It’s nice to reflect and give thanks. I try to always count my blessings as opposed to my troubles. I’m not always successful, but I try. Hope your holiday was blessed, Lavada!

Leave a Reply

