Improvisation? by Valerie J. Patterson

I had planned on writing about our recent trip to the Outer Banks, but I found myself out of time and, well, out of energy.  Plus something very odd happened today.

I was seated at my desk getting ready for the close of day when all of a sudden, I felt this odd sensation in my nose.  Next thing I knew, there was a puddle of blood on my hands and on my desk.  I yanked a handful of tissues from the box and promptly soaked them with blood.  I barely had time to reach for another handful of tissues before it was spilling onto my sweater.

I swiveled and reached for the trashcan, pulling it nearer as I continued to soak wads of tissue one after the other.  My boss came to see why I was making odd noises and sprung into action.  She and another co-worker were flying around the office.  One retrieved a bottle of soda from the refrigerator while the other was soaking some paper towels in cold water.  Before I knew it, the bottle of frigid soda was being held to the back of my neck while the cold paper towels were being held to my nose and another hand was tightly pinching the bridge of my nose.

For a solid 10 minutes, blood flowed from my nose like someone had opened a spigot.  Half an hour later, it finally had clotted and only a trickle remained.  It’s been a long, long time since I last had a nose bleed, but I have never had one of this magnitude.  I am most amazed at knowing the lovely ladies I work with are geniuses at improvising in an emergency situation.  In the absence of ice, grab the coldest thing from the fridge and apply it to the back of the neck as that constricts the vessels and slows the bleeding.  Applying cold compresses to the nose and pinching the bridge aid in slowing the bleeding while the body works on clotting it.

As I said, I have never seen so much blood from a nose bleed before, but I am both grateful and thankful for the fast-acting, intelligent women I work with!

Until next time, I hope you have a blessed Thanksgiving holiday if you celebrate.  If you don’t celebrate, I hope you have a very blessed Thursday!!

13 responses to “Improvisation? by Valerie J. Patterson

  1. Oh, dear, Valerie. That’s pretty scary, having a nosebleed that bad. And major props to your co-workers that they knew what to do. I did not know about the cold to the back of the neck to constrict the blood vessels. Wow. I’m glad you’re okay.
    And thanks re: Thanksgiving. I’ll be celebrating. Well, I’ll be cooking. Nine at our house this year. First time I’ve cooked Tday in a few years. Hope I remember how. Lol.

    • Valerie J. Patterson

      I must admit to panicking when I kept seeing that heavy flow of blood, but they kept me calm until the sheriff’s department and then the EMTs arrived.

      I hope you have a fantastic Thanksgiving. I know you will prepare an excellent meal, and enjoy it with your family. 😛

  2. I would have been scared to death. I’ve never had a nose bleed like that. Kris, our daughter had a few good ones when she was little but not that bad. You were lucky you weren’t out walking. Will you check in with your doctor?

    And, Happy Thanksgiving to you. Can’t believe it’s already here.

    • Valerie J. Patterson

      It was determined that the nosebleed was caused by overly dried out nasal membranes. It has been very cold here (below 20 degrees) and the day of the nosebleed, I had been outside nearly an hour running errands, which caused the membrane dry out.

      It happened right at the end of the day, so I am very thankful I was not driving home when it happened.

  3. Oh poor you! That must have been scary. Your colleagues were amazing though, so great that they knew exactly what to do. I didn’t know about applying something cold to the back of the neck either. Really pleased you’re okay now.

    • Valerie J. Patterson

      Thank you, Tricia. I am okay. Nothing further. I have terrible allergies and I normally use a humidifier in my home in the wintertime, but hadn’t started using it at that time because I’ve been a little reluctant to let go of autumn. lol 😛 I’m using it now, to be sure.

  4. Wow that had to be so scary for you. Hope all is well now. Happy Thanksgiving.

    • Valerie J. Patterson

      Thanks, Nancy! It does rank right up on my top ten list of scary happenings. Not something I want to repeat.

  5. wow. That was scary, wasn’t it? Glad you are okay. I used to get them when I got too hot but it’s been years. Don’t miss them. Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours

  6. Scary! Glad you are okay though and mercifully you were not on your own but had colleagues around you to help. Happy Thanksgiving to you all.

Leave a Reply

